Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:11 P.M. - Friday, Mar. 18, 2011
How did this happen?
So much has happened beginning of this month...speechless. Several times trying to write my mind would rehash all that transpired, twisting itself into knots�hard to perceive one stumbling over thoughts but it happened. Like a runaway nightmare no one could wake up from. Leaving PA and heading to Indianapolis I pulled over to the berm of the turn pike just trying to calm my banging heart. The hammering was felt throughout my body as if I was connected to an amp. Memories washed merciless through my being�one year to date the same road was traveled with my mother clinging to life support.

How could this happen? Again�

This time it was our youngest brother. What the hell happened�a note of congratulations still simmered on his face book page�way to go, a new job. Now the news from the west hit hard�he too was now on life support. Not good odds of pulling through. Another trip another nightmare unfolding�driving alone�OMG, reliving the past unfolding as if time warped, past colliding with future. Refusing to believe our brothers time here with us was over�my drive continued.

Hope�a word to cling to as our brother clung to life. Walking into the hospital an electric jolt was sent through my body, same hospital, same scenario. Heart was damaged, bleeps and hisses the only sounds in his room. Machines were crowding his space keeping him alive. Twenty four hour nurses were fussing with his feeding tube, they looked at me�friendly smiles were genuine, but the gravity of the situation they couldn�t hide�eyes don�t lie. Standing at the doorway�I saw our brother�saw our mother. Two more days the one year mark to moms passing hung heavy in the air�beep-beep�mom, hiss-hiss�our brother�same month just a few days away. Shock stole the show�family gathered, prayers and positive vibes came from round the world.

March 8th�a year ago mom silently slipped from this life to the next�our brother hung on. Siblings and me took moms ashes to a state park we visited during our growing up years. We set her free�three white doves made an appearance. A warmth filled our hearts�bitter sweet. Final good byes�a sense of closure. We stopped at a heath food store, a sharp wake up call to all of us�stop and consider our own mortality/health. We had an wonderful lunch of raw food, accompanying a fruit and veggie glass of juice.

Returning to the hospital a miracle was unfolding as our brother opened his eyes, he was coming back to us. His confusion amplified ours�his last memory was going to the E.R. to further treat pneumonia that he couldn�t shake. He recalled being fearful of laying flat as the sensation of drowning had caused him to sleep basically propped up on several pillows. Next memory was waking up attached to machines seven days later. We learned this from our brother several days later as waking up and comprehending all that transpired took a few days. Not surprising.

I had to head home before he was completely aware of the magnitude of the consequences he would now live with. An insulin dependent diabetic and heart meds. My final words before leaving Indy with my brother was telling him I loved him�he answered, �I don�t care get me out of here.� I smiled because at that moment it was known he was on the road to recovery�our brother was on the mend and would soon be moved from ICU and placed on another floor until he was strong enough to head home.

The nightmare ended�a life saved by the awesome staff at the hospital, the power of prayer and positive energy vibes sent by so many people. There will always be a sense of thankfulness for everyone that paused a moment and gave us hope.

This is the beginning of a new journey for our brother to embrace life utilizing a proper diet, exercise, insulin, and positive thinking.

He better live long after my journey is over�after all�he is our baby brother.

Me first�

Sandyz

Mom, brother John (aka) Sketchdude, cousin Kathy from Michigan, taken 2009

Awesome painting done by �Sketchdude� Melted clock

Our brother Joe spreading moms ashes march 8th 2011

Me and my sister going Vega�awesome lunch

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!