Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:13 P.M. - Monday, Oct. 18, 2010
I�m a walkin�pictures talken
Some times in this massive scheme of things I feel very small. The realization of this concept is one of the reasons I love mountains and oceans. For some reason you can�t take in their beauty without remembering how very insignificant the agonizing things we go though are. They are simply bumps along the road in life. Some how, however we chose, we make it over the hurtles and continue on until we come up against another obstacle.

This is life.

When I feel I am suffocating, losing ground, or get to a point in time I feel as if I can not take another breath�

I walk.

My foot prints this day are along the road leading up to what I refer to as, �cemetery hill.� The little village I live in is at the bottom of the hill.


I cut across the corn field in the distance�


Heading across the field on cemetery hill�

I rest on the bench and take in all that is around me. I often read the inscriptions on the stones and wonder�where have all the people gone. My sights are directed to the town below and I often ponder if others lives as chaotic as mine has been?


The view is stunning�and the stones tell stories of those that have past before us�long ago. Dates go back to the 1800�s.

Soldiers gone�they fought in the revolutionary war, World War 2, Korea, and Vietnam.

I took notice many children lost their fight in the early 1800�s�my mind takes me back to a time before simple vaccinations could save a life. How awful to lose a child for something now days that is so insignificant as an open wound.

The large monument has three children all passing within days of each other in the early 1800�s�one was two years old, another four, the third was only seven. These parents lived up to their early 50�s before they joined their children�How did they cope? I asked myself.


More memories faded with time�


When my eyes rested on this stone and flag�I was saddened. �Solitary man,� was my thought.


Another�


The village below�ancestors keep watch�


I felt the shadow of the flag was symbolic in an odd sort of way�


I look back once more�I feel at peace.


Walking down cemetery hill was so much easier than the walk up�I took another route down the dirt road.


The sun plays trickery on this humbling autumn day as it dances above the corn fields.


I walk the out skirts of the village towards Yellow Creek�


The colors are breathtaking�


I follow along the creek�my favorite place of solace�


She twists, turns, and flows�her melody in tune with natures magnificence�


I rested here�my heartbeat slowed. I noticed the leaves falling from the trees that natures ever changing canvas displays above her beauty�

A quiet time of mediation, Peace be Still.


As I concentrated on the glory of the changing season, listening to only my heart beat, the waters melody, birds in song, the soothing waters as it rippled over the stones. Peace be Still

As each leaf fell into the stream I watched the dance�the movement away from me�never to return to this point in time. The river claimed the autumn leaves taking them over the stones�around the bend.

It came to me�let go�let God�

As a new leaf was released to the stream I gave it one of my negative thoughts and watched it drift away�away from me. This became a purging of sorts, I released with each leaf that set sail upon the moving waters, my fears, pain, sadness, defeat, failures, any thing negative I had felt about my life. Those thoughts were cast out upon the waters�never to return.

I saw a branch break free of the tree and as my gaze fell upon it I said�That represents the man that lives with me�I am setting him free. Let him float along with the current, let it take him far from me. He may bump along the rocks, he might get caught along the shoreline on his journey through life, but he will move on�move along with the waters of time.

However�he is never to return to me.

I set him free.


My walk today took me to the top of the hill�


I sat and pondered life�


I walked away my sorrows, as they drifted down the streams.
I thought my chance was over, but it began today it seems.
I might feel small at times�living with an overwhelming load,
This great big world of sadness will release to me its hold.

Someday soon my heart will sing again�I will be free.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!