Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:54 A.M. - Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009
Ask the cats
Things have been hectic over the last week and with so much going on I fell asleep waiting for the big ball to fall welcoming the New Year. I found out it didn�t matter that I missed the festivities when I woke up realizing Jan1st 2009 had slid in without me keeping a watchful eye. Besides, I drifted off only ten minutes before the bells and whistles went off�I suppose it was too late to turn back the clocks.

Husband and I have been trying to decide which place was better suited for us to make a fresh start this coming year�the trailer on the out skirts of town or the house that sits right in town. Of course for me there was no decision�the house�Hands down!

I suggested we ask the cats. For me this made perfect sense�we have had them for years�in fact we had these cats when we lived in PA years ago. �Frankie� our momma cat is almost 18 years old, �Arnold� is coming up on her 16th birthday and baby boy, �Zeke,� will be 9 come February.

All of them were throw away cats. Frank was rejected by her mother�she was the runt. Arnold a cute tabby was rejected by a pet store owner when the woman came to look at our litter of bobtailed kittens and she wanted all of them except the tabby, stating tabbies were difficult to find homes for. BS I thought and kept them all finding homes for them myself, except the tabby that found a home in my heart. Zeke�was a dumpster cat�someone put him in a little box and deposited him in a dumpster at a place I worked. I heard a noise while taking out the trash and me not thinking it could be a rat or something that lives with garbage� removed the box and looked inside. Wow, a kitty just a few days old. Our vet cautioned us not to get attached because many infant cats need mother�s milk to survive the first few weeks. That was almost nine years ago and he is still with us.

Many that read my diary know I have traveled more last year than some do over a life time and while doing so I have turned the cats into gypsy felines, some times I feel they are more confused than me. They don�t like this place we are living in�it is much too small. They each have a place they hide except Zeke and he has found solace on the table. The only times I can keep his furry self off the table is when I am on the computer and then they all come out of hiding and sit and watch me peck at the keyboard. They are most excited when I use the printer�they love to play with each page that comes out of the little box.

I told husband the cats and I would be holding a meeting and I would get their input. I could see out of the corner of my eye that they were in the hallway listening closely to our conversation. I talked about the house having two stories and a basement with stairs they could race up and down and many windows they could sit on the ledges of and watch the goings on out side. Oh�the basement that had many rooms the cats could explore and a special place for their cat box�cats like their privacy too. I turned around and I swear I could see excitement in their eyes and that awesome twitching of their tails.

Then the talk turned around to the two bedroom trailer with no place to hook up our washer and drier, no window ledges, not much floor space. Two of cats ran off to their hiding places and Zeke jumped up on the table scaring the crap out of husband.

Deal sealed�we are renting the house. Husband called his cousin to let him know we are interested in the house. He and his wife said they have so much furniture in storage we will have no need to set out on a buying spree. I am so excited and within the next few months we will be moving.

Husband told me he didn�t care that the house is right in a little town�he said I deserved to be proud of a place I was living in. You know what�he�s right�the cats and I have been though enough; it is time something wonderful happened.

As I sit and write this morning all three of them are watching me type�they know we will soon be on the move again. But this time we, the cats and I, know that they had the final say�in their own little way.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!