Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:54 P.M. - Saturday, Dec. 27, 2008
Christmas any time
I fixed our Christmas dinner today while husband was working. I had planned on cooking the 25th but we both worked the eve of Christmas. His mom called and asked us over for dinner�I knew we should be with family so we accepted her invitation and ended up having a nice day. At first husband balked at going anywhere until I told him if I had the money and time off, I would get in the blazer, drive across state lines, and spend Christmas with my family. I miss them. I told him we were lucky to have his family here and I didn�t want to spend it here by ourselves.

So we went.

After careful consideration about the publishing company that offered to publish my book I have decided to decline and not sign their contract. I could go on for hours concerning the whys but it all boils down to too much negative press surrounding them. It�s time to let go. I am very much disappointed but not discouraged.

I haven�t given up any thoughts about my book being published I am moving forward looking at new possibilities. For now I want to keep all ideas under wraps until I figure out which route to take.

We have something to look forward to this coming New Year�a friend of husband offered us a trailer to rent on the edge of town�and his cousin offered us a house to rent in a nearby town. Both will be open and ready to occupy in a month or two. I am thrilled at the house offer; it is a split level home two bedroom, with a full basement, garage, and a yard. I can�t wait to go look at it as I wonder if it is like the one I dreamed about. This home belongs to the woman I am caring for the one I call Mrs. J. Her and her husband bought it off their daughter who married husband�s cousin. After Mrs. J. had the stroke her and her husband rented it to their son and they bought a farm place wheel chair friendly. Now the son is moving into the farm house leaving the split level open for rent. They asked if we would rent it from them.

The trailer sounds fine too and the man that offered it to us is a good friend of husband who has and continues to give him work. Right now they are all helping with the renovation of a barn into a cute little house for another family member moving here from Harrisburg.

Over the next few weeks we will check both places out and make a decision�but I would guess if the decision is back in my lap�I�ll take the house. His cousin said the basement could be a third bedroom, a computer room, an art studio�so many possibilities. I can�t wait to see it and can�t wait to take pictures. But which ever we decide on�it will be fine. I am ready to get out of this little place and turn a place into a home. How awesome that sounds.

So today we had our Christmas dinner and tomorrow while husband works I will have a day to myself. A day to think, a day to smile, and a day to feel grateful for�things are looking up.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!