Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:07 P.M. - Sunday, Dec. 14, 2008
It is going to happen
I received the call from my lawyer that I had been patiently waiting for. The longer the wait the more unsettled I felt.

Her search concerning the publishing company found it was all it was set up to be. It isn�t one of the �major� publishing companies but an excellent way to break into the writer�s world. They appear to treat each book a bit different at their discrepancy. Some books fly through the edit process with only minor checks for typos�other books go through a complete edit process. If the book has little or no editing from the publisher it will have a disclaimer in front of the book to explain this. There are no hidden costs just as it states and they do expect the writer to engage in some marketing. All books are listed with Amazon and Barnes and Noble but might not appear in physical form unless the sales are high or if any book store requests a number of copies.

The royalty percentage is in line with other publishers and in some cases a little higher. Unless of course I would happen to be top dog in the writer�s world, writing under a pen name, and then this offer would be an insult.

She would like to have a little more time to review some issues on the contract�her time is valuable and being end of year she is on the run. Not only are her and her husband family lawyers she also teaches at PSU. Year end final grading exams are taking up much of her time. She said she would get back to me end of this coming week�of course I told her�no hurry. (Big laugh as I sit here on pins and needles) Not really I am so grateful she has taken an interest and is helping assist me with the contracts legal wording. Some of this is out of her expertise so she is getting feedback from other lawyer�s.

My book is a bit more complicated as it is a true story and one that involves �real� people. It is important I go through every page and any one mentioned or written about must sign a release to be submitted with the final edited manuscript before going to print.

Also I have quotes throughout my book and I must understand and abide by all laws concerning the use of quotes. I had a major quote within the pages of the book taken from an old book that was last copy written in 1951. The law is gray and the process of getting permission from the estate could take months, cost big bucks, and I could still get a denial�so I took it out and did a rewrite. Better safe than sorry.


The lawyers last words were, �I know you are excited and should be.� But as time clicks forward I realize this is going to happen�I am going to have my book published. I am beginning to feel nervous and scared�I just hope it is good enough.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!