Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:13 P.M. - Friday, Dec. 19, 2008
Wild ride
No words express my disappointment regarding the publishing company offering to print my book.

My lawyer advised me not to sign the contract. The publishers interested in my manuscript are among the worst of the worst. They are not a reputable company and have been sued�have complaints against them, have cheated authors out of money owed, have full rights to the manuscript and or any possible movie rights. This most likely would not happen as they fall short of the writers association�in fact they are no longer even recognized within the writer�s world. If you put �their� name on a future query for a new manuscript it could be tossed aside. It is taboo to be associated with them.

The �hidden� wording throughout the contract strips the author of any rights regarding possible transfer of the book to any bigger publishing company should an offer be made. In general the contract is in conflict with the publishing company�s web site. Plain English�Web site vs. contract�it is all a big lie.

If all I wanted was to just have this book published so I could hold the printed copies in my hand�buy a few for friends and family�it might be ok. I would need to consider that there might be the very real possibility that proper editing might not be done. Chapters might start in the middle of a page, formatting might be a bit wacky, and the cover of the book might not be what I submit. Oh-Oh the title may change. If I wanted to ask people to please buy the book I would need be aware they would pay a higher price for a low quality book.

Damn that sounds like something I would feel great about.

Hey�how�s this idea�I get two pieces of cardboard, glue the cover art that was being done for the front, and then just staple the manuscript to the cardboard. Presto! My book. Now I�ll feel great about selling it. You got to laugh or life just might feel like it is a continual kick in the ass.

I will not go on as I have no dealings with them and can only write what was written to me�not first hand information from some one that took the bait. Of course negativity about them is all over the internet.

Although I am disgusted, disillusioned and just plain sad, I will not give up. She recommended a reference book that might be of help, �How to Be Your Own Literary Agent� by Richard Curtis. I�ll get this book�regroup and try again.

Something good came from this wild ride�I�ll have a new book to read.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!