Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:33 P.M. - Saturday, Jun. 21, 2008
Inhale
I went to work this am saw my work schedule and decided broken English or not I had to let them know about my limitations, I had 16 rooms� two floors and 7 check outs. I am already again walking with a limp. I took the Dr's note to the manager and he sent
me to health services. I spent five minutes with a nurse who released me back to work because my Dr filled restrictions on a form not recognized by my work place. She gave me the correct paper work and told me to have the Dr fill that one out bring it back and a committee will evaluate it and get back to me on what they decide. Because I am an employee under a year of service they might not have a place I can work with restrictions, no guarantee.

I went back to my work area and the boss said "good no restrictions" he said he could have me work any where. I told him ok. He then said IF I wanted I could go home and call in sick until I get the paper work back to work and evaluated. I told him I wasn't going to go home because I knew that would be like I had quit...(been there at my past job) He talked about how he was only concerned about my health and such but could have me work but didn't want me to. I sat there knowing it was a bunch of crap but held some truth to it...my health was important. I went through the motions feeling I was there for the last time, my Dr told me I could not do that type of work or I would damage my spine to the point of no return.

I left and told him Monday morning I will go to the Drs office and get the forms filled out and take them to health services. It is a shot in the dark but I feel I should do it for future reference. This is just too weird, two jobs ending because of my back, good Lord.

My bills are due in a week; surgery is pending on insurance I might lose if they decide there is no place for me to work with the restrictions my Dr has listed. I have my dental procedures set up to start the 10th of July. I wandered around the house today feeling a bit out of sorts, I felt the out come would be that they would have me on light duty until my Dr filled out the correct forms. I felt they might transfer me to another department until I get my back straightened out; the short time I have been there didn�t register until today on my way home.

I could have stayed and cleaned rooms and if something happened I feel certain that a lawyer would have had a heyday with them saying the form was incorrect but would that be worth further damage to my spine. I think not.

I�ll live with the decision I made. I made a call to inquire how long it would be until I got notification from the committees decision, she said most of the time between four to six weeks, and no I didn�t lose my job�I just need to keep up the insurance payments and after a week I would be on a medical leave pending the committees decision.

{{My boss just called from home, my record or job will not be tarnished, decisions now are my own.}}

Exhale.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!