Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:18 P.M. - Sunday, Apr. 29, 2007
My first observation of spring in the Ozarks
"All sanity depends on this: that it should be a delight to feel heat strike the skin, a delight to stand upright, knowing the bones are moving easily under the flesh."

Doris Lessing


These last few days I have been taking small steps to get back in shape. I started walking around our property. Saturday I had an awesome time, I spent almost an hour taking pictures wandering around, and spent part of the day outdoors reading. This morning I again got up put on hiking shoes and off I went. I did not last long; I suppose I pushed a bit too hard the day before. Tomorrow I will try again; someday this time in my life will be but a faded memory.

It was a wonderful feeling to have so little pain and be out walking again. I wanted to walk forever, I felt like I could for a short time. I was looking at the trees in bloom thinking about this being the first spring I have had the opportunity to observe. We moved to the Ozarks about 8 years ago, either I worked or slept through every spring in all those years.

Kind of sad when it dawned on me, as I had never gave it a thought before. I'd get up go to work, and for over four years I came home in the am and went to sleep, before that I kept two jobs. I did not have the time to take notice how awesome the change from winter to summer is. We moved to this mountainous state in July, by September I was working, by spring I had two jobs, then my hours increased at work to around 60 hours a week. The seasons came and went and although I have felt a void, I didn't think about life racing by. I feel now like my life was in fast forward.

Not to late though, over the last several days being home has awakened a part of me that had lain dormant. I will return to work as planned, this the reason I am working hard to gain back my strength, although I will go back with a new set of priorities.

We have many bills to clear up when I return to the workforce. However, I believe this will be the first time that work will not revolve around life. I will work to survive not live to work. I hope this lovely springtime off is a reminder not to get caught up in the web of forgetfulness and I remember to take time to observe life.

If need be I'll hang up a zillion pictures to remind myself how awesome life can be. It cannot take another accident or injury to make me stop and smell the flowers. I get it now.

Sandyz
(Our view from the porch)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!