Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:17 P.M. - Thursday, Feb. 01, 2007
Heartbeat

The sky cool gray, trees laced with icy snow crystals and little tuffs of snow, the ground covered in several inches. Not the heavy wet stuff the powdered snow sand that runs through your fingers when you pick up a hand full. The sun resting behind the clouds, trees silhouetted icy edges outlining the sky.

Boots moving beneath white fluffy coolness as light winds whisk the powder behind each step. I walk across the field making the first prints from mankind. Nature�s creatures already marred the landscape with their early morning movements; I study these prints as I entered the woods.

For some time I follow prints from last night�s visitors, later I make my way down a steep slope doing a little slip and slid dance trying not to disturb unique ice formations decorating the trees. I stop many times watching warm breath puff mini clouds that float upwards. I study the trees, and the ice configurations left behind on last year�s sturdy weeds that stand in defiance against winter�s performance.

The visual is breathtaking; I�m captivated by this moment in stillness. I pull the cap away from my ear and listen, all is silent, not a sound within the frozen forest. I sit on my knees and scoop snow away from the frozen ground as tingly feeling creeps upon me knowing spring lay in wait beneath my fingers. I cover the bare earth with a blanket of snow gently caressing the newly layered top.

Sitting back on my heels I look up as a tiny bird makes a brief appearance then stillness returns. I can't recall a time I have been so aware of the quiet, I bask in the tranquility of this moment in time. It is as though all life form is gone from earth except hibernating plants, no movement only visual fresh tracks tell the story.

As my movements take me back up the hill I stop still unbelieving the absence of sound around me. I hear my heartbeat and breathe slowly to count the beats. How amazing to hear nothing but the human heart in movement while mesmerized by the splendor before me.

I look upwards into grayness, behind me sorted grays and crystals of white, still concentrating on the rhythm of my heart. I feel small in this vast world of serenity inconspicuous yet intrigued by beauty.

Snow covered boots; wet gloves, coat and hat, now laying beside the heat in the house, my cheeks red from the cold my heart warm from a blissful walk.

This life is a blessing; today reminded me of how thankful I am for having the chance to walk in the flesh. It took hearing nothing except a heartbeat to be reminded how wonderful life is and to smile, even when no one was watching.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!