Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:48 A.M. - Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2007
Death and taxes

Yesterday was tax time I do them my lonesome after being scalped when my husband and I dissolved our partnership and he became sole proprietor of the business.

Before moving to this part of the world I too was self-employed training horses and caring for pets when owners were enjoying a trip away from home so we set up a partnership.

I cannot blame the scalper as we had lived in two states, liquefied a business, started a new one, sold a mini farm, and was building a new home. Our taxes were a nightmare the bill horrific and we owed yours truly Mr. Government.

Yep, death and taxes we can�t avoid them.

I decided if we were going to get bled each year I was going to do it myself.

Yesterday at 7am I went to battle, first I checked e-mail read some diaries then got to the task at hand. My stomach was in my throat at the start, that underlining fear I�d make a mistake.

Late that afternoon my husband came home with a slight knee injury, nothing that will keep him off work more than a day and more thankful it didn�t happen at work. He took a nap and I was at an impasse and needed a break.

After dinner and indulging in House I went back to death working on our taxes.

Can you believe it�2 am before I hit the file button. The big heave of relief passed through me as for another year I walked past the gates of hell and this year we do not owe.

If my husband stays at his newfound job that I have remained cautiously optimistic about, my yearly battle with taxes will be over. No more self-employeement.

I�d sit here and cry thinking about it but it is time to enjoy the moment knowing there it is� the proverbial light at the end of debt hell and I�m going to take a stroll today and breathe in-breathe out.

It�s has been a long time coming and to think it took taxes to open the door.

Death...back off I made it last night.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!