Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:47 A.M. - Wednesday, Feb. 07, 2007
Bitter Pill to Swallow
Over the last five-day�s I have worked 52 hours, four days were 12-hour shifts. I wasn�t alone there are plenty of us on this good Lord I�m tired schedule.

My last day at work before two days off I was approached by an upper management person that I hold in high regard, I have much respect for the job he holds, his knowledge, and his understanding of people, even those of us with damaged ego�s�{{there is a lot of that in our work place right now.}}

This person I�ll refer to as �T� informed me he was conducting an AIB meeting at the end of this week. The look on my face must have raised those little red flags as he asked what was up. I informed him I was no longer a member of that team, ((this was aired out in a past entry, �Why does Disappointment have to bite so hard.�

Long story short I spent 4 hours at work yesterday and after much discussion I spent 3 hours working with our new AIB person. I woke up this morning wondering what happened?

It felt like picking a scab off a wound not yet even healed, so much has been said much fuel added to an already flaming infernal. The AIB team had been dissolving and no one noticed. {{The ego in us all is a powerful thing.}} We the team were fairly tight over the last year, we had much in common the over time was the top of the list. We communicated through text messaging on days off about schedules and worked together when possible. I handled most of the paper end of the position.

When the new AIB person came flying out of left field with no prior knowledge and having never volunteered for any work in the past, tempers flared and with a nonchalant attitude working only 8-hour shifts, no weekends, no overtime and taking notes for her newly acquired team, the actual team fell apart. No upper management asked, so no one knew�until T informed me of the meeting. Opps no one will be there because one by one they have all changed direction.

I was told the upper management had shifted gears and T replaced the person that was in charge of AIB. He needed help with damage control but most important needed a team back in place, hopefully the prior team that already had experience and knowledge.

I wish I didn�t care, I wish I could say shove it but these people that have been handed the responsibility had nothing to do with all that transpired over the last month. Nor did they have any thing to do with filling the job opening.

If the new AIB girl fails at this job it definitely gives me a shoe in as I am next in line, if she learns all about the job and it goes back up for bid as a higher paying job, she will most likely get it, knowledge and seniority. The easiest way she will gain the upper hand is by the team and I sharing knowledge. Two weeks ago I did turn over all paper work I had accumulated over the years, which will help her during this transaction. But now they are asking for our help, the team and my time, all over time.

My dilemma is if I really want to help try and pull our team back together or start working with another team if the older ex-members will not budge. None of us are irreplaceable.

Dang it�it�s hard helping boost another person up to a higher position when up until now they had no interest, not once willing to give their time for something so important at our work place.

But yesterday I swallowed that bitter damn crap and walked through the plant with her sharing knowledge. I often wonder what drives me to care about things I have no business caring about. Is it that sign on my back that says, �kick me I�m wallowing� or am I just that stupid.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!