Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:39 A.M. - Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2006
Explaining the Move Smart program that is stealing my time
The progress of the work shop is doing well; we have had less on the job accidents and more awareness of how we move our bodies to help reduce wear and tear from repetitious work. The training is set up for three sessions; I am now certified as an instructor for the Move Smart, and Hand Smart program.

The next two classes for instructors are in many categories, Fall Smart, on and on. They have a web site you can read to get the general idea of what I am learning to do, or in this case have learned to teach.

Visit www.movesmart.com/ it gives an over all of the program.

Right now we have mandatory over time given by our "big boss" then added to this I have Move Smart classes set for all four shifts and office personnel, this schedule was coordinated by our safety coordinator and the busy schedules of the office. It clashes with my work schedule which because of the volume of work load cannot be changed. This will only continue until the second week of February and then should be back to a normal 48 hour week. That is until I go back to Georgia and become certified in another area of Move Smart.

I do love the program and believe in it 100%, this is why I chose to be involved in the program. Frankly I had no idea at the time I would be required to give hours of presentations but at the time there where two of us that had trained together and decided how to tag team the program.

Some people are not up to speaking to groups of people and the person I went to Georgia with found out after we were told we would be giving an hour presentation upon completing the class. After a fitful night she was terrified to get up in front of people. She did very well but decided that day this program was not for her.

I admit my nights sleep before the presentation was to be given was more awake thinking than sleeping. I was fortunate?? to be the first one picked out of the grab bag of the order in which we would be the "guest speaker".

The night before I snuck into the conference room and set up the room for my presentation and acted out the beginning of my speech/interaction to a vacant room and empty chairs. I wanted to see the room from the angle for which I would be speaking instead of hiding behind my manual slumped in a chair.

The morning of the presentation I was completely prepared with all notes in order, but I chocked while trying to read my pile of notes and keep in tune with opening statements.

I ditched the notes, winging it and did fine. This is how I give my presentations now, all the material on hand, the over head and flip charts set up. I go with the flow and try not to think about the program in its entirety, I break it down so my mind and others can better understand it. I set up demonstrations to illustrate the program as actions speak in volumes.

Still, I get very nervous before a presentation, I never feel comfortable until I am feeling a little in control of my shaky self and see that others do not appear to notice.

The technology for the Move Smart program was adapted from martial arts, ergonomics, kinesiology, (the science of movement) and practical work applications that prevent real-world cumulative and acute injury.

I have always been intrigued by martial arts having been involved many years ago when my children and I attended classes. I now love the art of Yoga, as the human body is amazing in the ways we can teach ourselves to heal and move.

For now I go with the flow and will work and continue teaching others this program I believe so much in. If one person can benefit in ways I have it will be worth being tired a few more weeks.

This program when first introduced to us by an awesome instructor is what led me down the path to Yoga, then on to a healthier life style. This started my quest to eliminate my 30 plus year's of addiction to nicotine.

It is known all roads have many paths; the trails I have taken from the time I sat through the first presentation of Move Smart have all been life changing. So it cannot be all bad.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!