Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:48 A.M. - Saturday, Sept. 03, 2005
Katrina's misery
I sit here tonight while images I have seen on TV flash through my mind like a slide show. There is no way to turn the horror off; this is the most unacceptable tragedy I have lived to witness.

My thought's bounce around to where I could start casting blame, but those considerations would be pointless. Playing the blame game will only toss fuel into already exploding conditions.

For me it is impossible to fit into the shoes of those left to fend for themselves on rooftops, floating in murky contaminated waters, shelters too small to handle the volume of those left behind, and others just wandering the streets. Most living in inexplicable conditions not fit for the human race.

The tension is at an all time high placing even decent and honorable people in situation's they may look back on and wonder what happened to them. Desperate times sometimes cause impulsive actions. The fight to survive is instilled in most of us, whatever the means, minus taking another life to aid ourselves. Sadly, this too is happening right before our eyes.

I ask myself when is enough, enough. No home's, no food, no water, no direction, uncertain whereabouts of family and friends, no place to go and hundreds with only the clothes on their backs. Many more sick, injured and all misplaced. An entire city, with aid being promised but lost in the cracks they say.

Many of those that chose to stay felt safe after the hurricane first hit, believing the Big City had been spared, then when the floods came thousand became trapped. Today I watched on the news where many were fleeing the city on foot, fearing for their lives and those that they love. The photos of the small children and babies are the most appalling. People are tormented trying to tend to the elderly and the children. This is heart wrenching.

I question how this can happen right here on our soil; thousand of stranded people without even the simplest of things, food or water for day's that must seem endless. While watching and hearing the anguished cries for help I do not feel as if I am watching a neighboring city right here in the US. My heart breaks and from the depths of my soul as I weep for the ones that feel hopeless.

In retrospect, there were things that could have been done to stop the raging waters from entering the city; also, there were rescue measures in place to send aid much quicker. Communications could have been sent to those living each day in hope of rescue only to witness death all around them, feeling neglected and alone. That was the yesterdays, painful life changing events that may forever haunt the ones that have lived to tell their stories.

Some how we need to grab today and move forward, forget for now the anger and bring back faith throughout the city. It may honestly be too late as many lives were lost senselessly and still much needed essentials are slow to come. However, there is no way to back up and change the events that have been unfolded each day. Survival, hope, and thoughts of rebuilding, need to fill our minds to help lift damaged spirits.

I t may as some might say be easier for many of us outside the living hell looking in be easier said then done. Knowing they are not alone in their grief may help rebuild faith.

I pray the in people in the disaster areas do not sincerely believe there are those of us that have not forgotten even one life in the disaster area's, mourned and felt the hopelessness for not being able to do much more than to give of ourselves and pray. Not a day or night goes by my mind is not filled with overwhelming images and grieve.

Be strong, know you are not alone, we are giving and help is on the way. May the good Lord be with everyone that feels the loss of the catastrophe.

Sandyz


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!