Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:49 P.M. - Friday, May. 27, 2005
Nuisance Neighbors

There are times I wonder what in the world am I doing here on top of the Ozarks.

I found this essay I had written before leaving our little farm in PA. Sometimes writing about our journeys help us to understand why we are motivated to do certain thing's at the time.

This time I found myself laughing�

For as long as I can recall people have annoyed me and I take it. Seems I�ve allowed myself to be pushed around for a very long time, they have irritated, agitated and down right pissed me off.

They see me coming I�m sure of it, �Hey here she comes our human punching bag, lets get rid of our life�s frustrations in one blow.� I don�t actually hear the words, but I believe actions are our silent voices.

I use to worry about going some where new; being afraid I may be mistaken for a human toilet although I never could find the sign hanging on my back that read, �Please shit here.� Maybe it�s me, could I be one of those folks that send radar out letting others feel that by using me their problems seem more tolerable? Well good for them, let them stomp and shake life�s little nastiness off their feet; I�ll brush it off.

Now I�m not a pushover, getting knocked down leads me down an entirely different path. I�ll hold that thought for another time.

I wanted to explain my lack of action towards insensitive people as part of my nature before presenting this scenario.

We have us the irritant, and neighbors the irritation. Some thing about us has bothered these people from the day they moved in. Maybe because we get up in time to see the sun come up or spend our times involved with our animals, maybe because were just here. You don�t suppose we were to disappear the day they arrived do you? Tough crap; we were here first.

Truthfully, I can�t reflect back on anything we might have said or done. We were here they moved there, life goes on. This was what we thought, oh how wrong we were.

They first tried to get our attention by lining their chairs along the front of their home, sitting all in a roll like chickens on a fence. The genius that laid that home foundation placed their front door facing ours. We live on several acres them on several more. Is the best view of all this out door beauty our front door? I don�t think so but some one did. So there they sit lined up next to their front door (no porch) on the ground watching us sitting on our front porch.

Now are we being petty? Hell no, they have two side yards and a wonderful back area set up with a grill and nice shade trees compliments of previous owners.

The first owners might not have had the flair for the layout of the house but they had the common decency to respect our privacy and they wanted their own. With our new neighbors it�s a different story.

In retrospect if all we were contending with were nosy neighbors then maybe it wouldn�t be so offensive. Those watching our every move often with the aid of binoculars could be like a game for us. We could go out at night dig holes and pretend to bury our dead, oh the ideas are endless, this to say we don�t actually break the law.

This ridiculous behavior of theirs was just the initial assault. Next the dogs three maybe four, the barking day and night non-stop as three of the dogs are chained next to the lane that brings us up to our property. No more walks down the lane to pick up our mail as even me, the animal lover, knows the danger of dogs that are lifers on a short chain.

This is our road too but they have secured it by putting mean dogs along it leaving them in deplorable conditions. The last time I walked down to retrieve our mail I had our dog with me, these beasts came at us teeth and claws all that kept them from ripping our throats out was flimsy chains.

I still have nightmares: I should consider a good lawyer. Now lets say the dogs never do get loose we still have the non-stop barking our constant reminder they are waiting. It never stops the yapping, I think they take turns, one gets tired the others take over. This has disrupted the life with our young horses. While trying to work with them and lead them around our property the barking has them on guard as all horses are born with a fear of pack dogs.

I realize this is another amusement for our obviously bored neighbors, me getting trampled or dragged around I feel certain they would sell tickets to the rest of their family.

Slipping into sleep is not what it used to be, listening to the sounds of the night slowly drifting off to slumber. I can�t say what are worse the dogs howling or my husband yelling at the top of his lungs, �SHUT THE HELL UP!�

I lay there just wanting to kill anything. This alone is enough to drive many of us to being disgruntled neighbors and marching over to exterminate the problem. But add to this; our property joins theirs and right over our line is the new dumping ground. They all have their own 4/wheeler and enjoy riding the property line pitching empty cans on our land.

After picking up two garbage bags full of cans and paper, now I just run over them with the mower, making sure the shredded pieces shoot back to the rightful owners. These people top the list as �Nuisance Neighbors.�

So what can we do about it? We have a major problem and I have always felt where there is a problem/solution. I have amused myself dreaming up answers.

One idea involved a cannon, a good aim, bye-bye, maybe even a bad aim. Any way I dream of guns, blowtorches, hit men and many other humane ways to politely say, �we don�t want you here.� UFO's are good.

With all my splendid ideas comes the reality that lurking around the corner is jail time. These neighbors are hideous but my new cellmate may be a bit more appalling.

Thinking I might not get caught is a joke, I can�t drive a mile over the limit without getting nailed. Once my car�s inspection had expired one day over the month, wham they got me.

I never have gotten by with any thing so thinking I could do any thing to retaliate is absurd.

Barking dogs, nosy neighbors and trash in our yard is the lesser of the possible consequences. Hearing the slamming of metal doors and being told when to eat and crap is not my idea of a wonderful life.

I go back to my beginning were I explain letting people nudge me around; why? Because I strongly believe what goes around comes back to knock us for a loop. I can sit back ignore my neighbors and hope I may at least be a little on track.

I have been spending more time in our back yard; it�s quite pretty back there. Some times I miss our porch but the view has changed. Looking past the neighbors not at them and by going about my business, they seem to be losing interest in trying to get a rise out of us. Some times I even forget they are there. I try not to let my skin craw every time I look down to see them looking up. The hardest part is spending less time riding the horses as when I gather up saddles and bridles they show a new interest in target shooting.

I�ll not allow them to watch me go flying off the back of one of our horses do to there idiocy. I do feel there is one thing I can do about our inconsiderate neighbors.

I went to Wal-Mart, made the investment of my life.

I walked down the lane past the barking canines; hammer in my hand and the sign under my arm. As I beat two poles in the ground with all the anger I had held back I had a smile on my face. I was going to win this battle as I always do by letting things go.

They were watching as they always do. I stepped back admired my handy work and stifled a laugh �FOR SALE.�

They watched me walk by head held high.

I spoke the first words ever to them; �just wait until you see who we sell to.�

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!