Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:43 P.M. - Saturday, Dec. 04, 2004
My mother in me
I recall years ago watching a Phyllis Diller special. She said" one day I was putting on a sweater and my mothers arm came out."

I laughed until tears streamed down my face. I loved the humor that woman passed around.

A few days ago I was reminded of that show. I glanced in the mirror, pulled my hair up to see what I might look like with shorter hair. My mom looked back. I stood in amazement at the resemblance I saw in the glass. I could see my mother in me.

My mom has long hair now but for the brief moment I had lifted my hair over my collar it was my mom I saw stare back at me.

I received a photo a few days ago of my sister in-law. I was shocked, as I had not seen her in such a long time. I felt I was looking at my ex mother-in-law. How odd it is to see the deceased coming back to life through their children, in essence a part of them reborn.

A speck of us will keep returning with each generation. Rather it be the hair color, texture, smile, eyes or in Phyllis's case, an arm.

I was not saddened to see a part of my mother steal a glance at me through the mirror. In a way, I felt a honored to keep the family traits moving with the beat of time.

Some people that see me say I look like my father others my mom. I have yet to see my dad look back at me, or hear his voice when I open my mouth. For now I feel I am carrying a part of my mother.

I wonder if ever when my girls gaze into a looking glass and possibly see part of me look back if they will shed a tear or as I have felt a tinge of family pride.

I know where my roots are, leaves that blossomed over the spring brought proof.

If the day comes that flowers bloom within my own daughters and put a part of me within them.

I hope they smile.

I did.

Thanks mom, for being the mother in me.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!