Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:36 A.M. - Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004
Cyber Friends
I was thinking today about all my on-line friends that I have never met in person. I have so many that sign in names intertwine with an endless flow of words that I have connected with.

Some I call soul mates. Some cyber friends have become my sisters of the heart, my brothers and sisters, all a unique connection that molds their world to mine. I have met many of these vertical companions through stop smoking support groups. There I felt an instant blending of the minds with so many people fighting each day to beat the nicotine addiction. The Nicodemon came to life and us as fighters prepared for battle with the number one addiction in the world. Nicotine.

Even some "quitters" that lost the fight and slipped back into a smoking world I have remained in contact with. Other cyber friends are still fighting the demon just as I am, we're still in touch. We are finding more things to connect with than our battles with not smoking as many of us feel free to talk about our pasts and present lives.

I have felt close to many a cyber friend when reading about a death in their lives. Our hearts beat as one we feel a connection through loss.

I've wondered before what attracts me so much to the cyber world of friendship. Getting to know people on such a personal level but never really knowing them at all. Our connection is by words; we may be worlds apart. I don't really know these wonderful friends or any thing about them except what is expressed through words. Yet I feel a connection closer than I do than to some of my 3D friends.

I believe at times our souls meet on the cyber highway and connect. We are suppose to be at the crossroads in space for a reason. Some times to fill a void. At times to bring a smile, to wipe a tear or to be on the listening side of someone thoughts.

No matter what the reason or how I met some of these wonderful spirits, they are a God send for me.

I have tossed my smokers mask aside and moved forward on the writers path. There is an internal part of me that is waking up. I am beginning to look at all people I meet as a child of God. For all the faceless folks I have met in cyber space and connected with how am I to know if one might be standing in line with me at the super market. The person that hands me my change over the counter might have helped save my life, or listened on a night I felt all alone.

Maybe the man standing at the red light took me one step closer to God.

I might get off line today and see you along the road tomorrow.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!