Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:48 P.M. - Monday, Sept. 20, 2004
A \"little\" thank you.
Last night while driving the only available route to work from this rural place, down the winding mountain road, I was thinking about how small we are. Not small as in tiny little people, but small in the grand scheme of things. Life.

Maybe it's about getting older and knowing some day my earthly clock will stop ticking. I took in the views of the bluffs and marveled at the structure of these mammoth rocks. My mind did a picture show of all the things these mountains might have witnessed from the times they stood watching.

There is a place down this journey that has overlook. I captured that view slowing my speed. This is the same view you would have of the little town below if you were in a plane circling the county. A light dusting of clouds below me, miniature little homes, dots I like to imagine being farm animals grazing the lands.

What an awesome view.

While coming off the mountain I thought about the tiny little thread that binds us to earth, our bodies. Also I thought about the life-line that gives us strength not to snip that angel hair. Our Faith.

Life is short looking back, moving forward I hadn't noticed. Always looked forward to another place and time. I am learning as time tosses gray hair my way and gravity pulls me closer to her embrace not to waste a breath.

I am learning how short this life is right here on earth, I am understanding every day is a gift.

I felt It took me awhile to sort this all out, over half a century.

But as I pulled up to work I realized I knew this all along, how little in the grand scheme of things we are. It's the glorious impact and positive ripples we create along the way that makes our lives big.

I hope in the next half a century I create a big bang. Just my tiny way to say thank you for breathing life to my soul.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!