Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:09 P.M. - Sunday, Aug. 30, 2009
�Lemonade from Life�s Lemon� Book Signings
When I first dreamed of having a book published it wasn�t this book, it was during a time I was writing children�s stories and poetry. My passion for writing didn�t allow me to think I would never hold my own book in my hands�.deep within my essence I knew. There were many poems I had written over the years and adding them to the beginning of my cat series I had enough book ideas to fill shelves.

How strange looking back to when my dream was born I contemplated it might be a book published for kids�never thinking one day it would be about a child we all love and lost.

My book is a story of loss, of love, and about life. The article that ran in the paper has given me an inside glance how others might describe my story. When people would ask what the book was about�I found myself stumbling for words.

Paul Price, writer for The Bedford/Blair County Shopper Guide summed it up more elegantly than I ever could. I am learning from his point of view how to best describe my journey.

�Lemonade from life�s Lemon.
A Gift from the Heart.
by Paul Price

When Sandy England�s nine-year old grandson was struck by a car and died, her world was turned up-side down to say the least. As she grieved, she, like nearly any-one in the same situation would do, attempted to understand why it happened to a young boy. Why didn�t she die instead? After all, she was older and he had a full life ahead of him.

In her journey, she discovered that nearly all those related to the boy blamed themselves for something that wasn�t their fault at all. They all lived in a world filled with �If only�� or � I wish I had��, often unaware of each others feelings.

The lemon handed to Sandra has been made into lemonade for all to read, appreciate, cry through and identify with. In her grief her fear of forgetting her young grandson, she took pen in hand and wrote �Red Hair and Freckles: Running Barefoot through the Storm.�.

In plain and simple English, Sandy tells of her experience. Beginning with the day of the accident, the hours, and weeks, and continuing for months after-ward and beyond, she tells of the events in almost diary fashion, blending happenings with dreams that occurred afterward, feeling constantly teased by the events. All the while, she questioned her own faith and beliefs, always reverting back to �God will not give you more than you can handle.�

As I write this I admit to not having completed reading the book, yet. Each time I have a few moments, I wander to my desk, and read a bit, fighting to not go to the back of the book and �cheat� by reading the end first to discover the out come. By the time you read this, I�ll know, but don�t ask. I won�t tell.

Now in its published form, the paperback is available for your life lesson��

He went on to tell times and dates of the signings.

Now that I have had the awesome experience of two book signings I feel no anxiety for the next two scheduled for September 19th and 25th. I find that words come without practice of what to say when asked a question�I know when a hug is needed or when to just sit quietly when someone shares their journey.

Lord knows all of us have a story to tell and I find an inner peace listening and relating to others. When the common ground we find ourselves on is as fragile as a wing in flight, there is comfort knowing, we are not alone and through faith we will learn together that one or two things will happen: there will be something solid to stand on or together we will be taught to fly.*

Sandyz

Me�book signing at the book store

Out side of Book Store�no, I didn�t stand out there waiting for someone to stop by. LOL

Mike and JJ from writers group stopped by to buy a copy of my book

Book signing at library

*Original quote: �When you have come to the edge Of all light that you
know And are about to drop off into the darkness Of the unknown,
Faith is knowing One of two things will happen: There will be
something solid to stand on or You will be taught to fly�

by Patrick Overton


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!