Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:32 P.M. - Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2005
Flip-Flop
The last few days have been quite strange for me, my system is adjusting well to flip flopping from nights to day but my mind is all scrambled. It feels odd to be awake when the sun is up, unusual to sleep at night. Working 12-hour shifts no matter what direction you are going is a challenge, at least for me it is but living on the reverse side of the coin will take some mental getting use to.

My first day off I had an early morning dentist appointment, and then needed groceries as now I will be back in the kitchen more than twice a week. I got home around 2:30 pm and kept feeling as if I needed to be sleeping, although I was not tired. That night I slept longer than I have in almost a year. I had been used to napping in four-hour intervals wakening feeling groggy then some time later falling asleep again.

I cleaned the house, still time to spare; I spent some time on the computer but could not concentrate. I fixed an awesome supper then about fell asleep at the table. Hubby woke me up; I did the dishes then fell into an entire nights sleep again.

This morning I couldn't shake the feeling I was suppose to be working tonight, most of my nights shifts I'd sleep my first night day off and then have the second day if I hadn't stayed up all night. (Normally that is what I did.) So today was like a free day. My body could not grasp this new concept so after fixing hubby and I breakfast I fell back to sleep. I could not stay awake.

After a two-hour nap and reminding myself what food does to your waistline if you eat and go directly to bed therefore I indulged in an hour of Yoga. The sun was in full swing so on came a pair of shorts and sleeveless shirt and out I went. October is coming to an end and it was 89 degrees, how awesome. I cleaned up around the yard filling a trash bag and not nearly making a dent in the debris lying around. We do live in a construction zone.

I got a big pot of homemade chili on the burner and still it was only 4 pm. How splendid and I do not go to work tonight.

I talked to my daughter in Florida and we talked about the approaching hurricane. My grand son is scheduled to have an out door birthday party on Sunday, our eyes are on Wilma. The notice she said that is posted say's, "Wilma go back to Bedrock!" I hope it does.

My daughter is thrilled I am on days as now she can call and not wonder if she will wake me up, (I did not tell her about the sneaky little nap I took.)

It is peaceful right now, night is just beginning to fill the skyline and I am feeling good about not being a nightwalker any longer. I am working 62 hours this week and it does not feel like it; we have family coming from PA from my hubby's side over this approaching weekend and I will be able to enjoy their visit. Two weeks from now a wonderful friend of mine from Orlando will be here for that weekend and again I will be awake for her visit.

I think once my scrambled mine realizes I have a "real" day off I am going to love this change, one sunny day at a time. OK�a little rain here and there.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!