Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:08 P.M. - Saturday, Aug. 15, 2009
Unexpected words from the heart
At times when we get a bit discouraged, maybe wondering if what we are attempting to do is meaningless�something or someone shows up out of nowhere. Their words are most often captivating. We sit back and think�maybe we have done something right after all.

I got a phone call last night from my Memphis brother; he asked if I had received his letter. Of course I did because it has been on my mind for several days�it both touch and shocked my heart. I don�t often write about my four siblings because most of our adult lives we have been scattered across the states. We don�t know what is going on with each other on a daily basis. The internet has linked some of us but not all of my family is connected through the cyber world.

We talked for some time about the letter he sent�he gave me his permission in fact he wanted me to share his thoughts with anyone that would �listen.� He said this was one of those the life defining moments he has heard about, all because of my book.

With his permission I pass on to you if you care to journey�his �private� words to me.

�Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your wonderful book. I will cherish it forever and show it to anyone close to me.

This may ring hollow to you, I have major regrets for not being there when PJ passed. I can�t remember where I was or what was going on in my life at that time. Don�t know sister, I won�t lie.

Your book touched me hard�in a positive way.

I can honestly say I loved it and I am writing a review from as if I don�t know you. Sandy, I have read some of your work before and thought it was very good-That said- I love this story from your heart, THE BEST.

Please continue this storys� from real life, I believe you will develop many devoted fans. I am one already.

You asked me to tell the truth and I promise I am. If I didn�t like or relate to your book I may have glossed over what I really thought so as not to hurt your feelings.

I think this book should be sent to Oprah W. and Eric Clapton.

I hope and pray the �Freckles� is a best seller because it inspired me, one who has never experienced the pain of loss in that dimension. I am F***ing lucky. (I censored this.)

Your book touched my heart. I have had loss in my life, though not my own blood. I have always had music and it touched my heart when you wrote about �Tears from Heaven,� by Eric Clapton. I could not imagine having a child taken so soon-and like PJ in such a senseless way. It brings to mind one of mom�s favorite songs by R.E.M. �Everybody Hurts.� Michael Stipe was very good friends with Curt Kobain when Curt took his own life.

Good Lord, the pain we bear. Like I said I am blessed to have my core family whether we get along or not.

SEE! Your book really made me think! I truly believe readers will relate, whether or not they have experienced the loss that one day, we all will, and must, face.

I really think there is a reason for all things we endure, happy, or sad, horrific and beautiful, as you write, only God knows---I love the part where God says PJ knows everything from the beginning to eternity---That part gives me peace in a way I cannot understand. Thank you for sharing that.

Ok Sister, here is my review of your book; I am trying to be Mr. Objective so here goes. Oh by the way, I love you,

Geo

Red Hair and Freckles�Running barefoot through the Storm.
Review by George L. Moore

From the beginning the author draws the reader into her story. It is magnetic and inspiring. The reader must first endure a somewhat painful journey in what has to be everyone�s nightmare.

The loss of a child is hard enough to see on TV or read about in the papers, and to think it could happen to the reader is heartbreaking.

Mrs. England turns the loss into a heartwarming, sad, and eventually, uplifting and inspirationally moving story that demands to be read by everyone.

This book reads like a novel because the reader will want to know what happens next, yet it is also a testament from the author.

The dream sequence makes this reviewer wish he would have recorded his own dreams. This book will make the reader, not make, maybe inspire us to reevaluate our own existence and question why or where we are now.

The author did not try to wrap up her story with the �happy ending.� She kept it real and when you read it you will understand. We hope she will write more about other times in her life.

PS�write more!"

The reviewer, my Memphis brother George (aka) Geo

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!