Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:09 P.M. - Friday, Mar. 27, 2009
Endless sorrow

�The sorrow which has no vent in tears may make other organs weep.�

~Henry Maudsley

I pondered this question over the last few days�was it possible that we that live in the flesh can die of a broken heart?

It has been written that it is not uncommon for someone that passes before his or her life-mate to expire within a year of the other. I know of three families that when either the mother or father departed and the spouse followed not long after. I will add that in all cases both parents were very ill.

During the years I worked with horses I saw this within the animal kingdom, a mare died giving birth to her filly and even though the owners found a surrogate mother the foal as the vet put it, �quietly pined away.� She moved from this world to the next within three months following her mother.

I wondered also why some people can move forward after a loved one is no longer with us and I find myself, even after many years, grief stricken during certain moments in time.

I wondered�what is wrong with me.

I talked this over with a friend and her perception might be the answer I have longed for, concerning why I find it so difficult to let go of past emotions and allow them to at times over shadow my thinking.

For nine years I have been on and off working on my manuscript, �Red Hair and Freckles,� more so during these past months after returning to this state. The book is written from my perspective covering loss in many forms. The core of the story is the bereavement of my young grandsons passing. It is written full of emotions during an agonizing time of our lives. To write emotions one must re-live it, painful as it is. If you try and write emotions standing in front of a closed window you fail miserably�it might be perceived as a dry write. One must open the window and go back in time, in turn you find yourself standing in yesteryears reliving the past.

My manuscript is complete but knowing I am on the verge of publication I am check, rechecking it over looking for any typos that might be lurking. For my own sanity I must complete the final check, complete the author BIO and acknowledgments, and move on to my next book.

Some times it helps when questioning your thought process to talk with someone observing from the out side in�their words to you might be the missing notes you yourself fail to hear.

Back to my question�is it possible for someone to die of a broken heart?

I believe it is if we stand too long on the wings of the past and fail to notice today. For my writing it was important to back track through history and re-experience it. I just need to remember the way back to this moment in time. How easy it could be to relive-relive a life altering moment in time, and pine away, as the young filly did so long ago.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!