Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:03 A.M. - Tuesday, Mar. 24, 2009
Once in a Blue Moon

I have had a very weird week, well from the time I connected with high speed. I went to Embarq and set up my mail account and selected a new user name. For the first time I decided to use my name first and last. I had trouble from the jump start messages popping up announcing I didn�t have an account with them. Finally I decided to use their �live chat� for assistance. After giving my last phone number and then the new one�the chatter informed me I didn�t have an account. He asked for all necessary information, name, last phone number, new phone number. He said it should work fine. Bye now�end of chat.

I went back to My Embarq and started the process of reentering the information. I typed in the password�still invalid.

Back to chat on line support. I was notified this time I was using the incorrect password and the chat-guy gave me my pass word. (Him thinking silly woman can�t recall her pass word from less than 5 minutes ago?) I saw the password looking at me from the screen. Hey, I typed back�that wasn�t my password.

The typing continued, �It must have changed.�

Ok�I went back to my page, put in user name and �new� password.

Anyway I was in�first thing I did was set up my web mail. But wait�it was already set up and there was mail. All kinds of mail�to me junk, to another treasure. I set up my outlook and every few minute�s mail pored into my in-box. I was getting frustrated�I had problems before with span�but 50 messages from a Yahoo chain letter. Something like that.

I decided I had had enough and started to go to the bottom of all mail and hit �unsubscribe me.� I know this always doesn�t work�but I was getting desperate. No mail was coming from any one I knew�all these people were sending the same messages, about flowers, gifts, having lunch, etc. All from some Yahoo group.

I must have unsubscribed from 20 places, every time I unsubscribed a message would come back to verify it. I kept getting my in-box filled with messages, so I started writing little notes and hitting reply��I don�t know you please take me off your list.�

This went on for days. I closed up Out Look and decided to use web mail. Once there I started to upload my address book when I saw there was already an address book filled. I started to wonder WTF�and checked the sent box.

Lord and behold my evil twin must have sent messages to people I didn�t know. She must have been doing it while I slept. I went to my G-mail account and sent a message to myself�to my new address. (I begin to think there were two us with the same username.) But my mail to myself arrived at the web account. I was really beginning to question my sanity at that point.

I sent out an e-mail to myself from web mail asking if there were two of us. It came back to me in Out Look. SCREAM!!!

I went to support chatty guy again and told him something wasn�t right�he checked�I was wrong he was right�the end�chat session closed.

I tried to change my user name�so sorry, not allowed. Still mail from people I never heard of kept filling my in box.

Week later�my friend Becky called; she had been e-mailing me and asking me to write her back if I got the mail. A message came to her inbox from another Sandy with my last name, and the same user name asking for help. She thought she was going crazy�she was doing the same thing I was doing. Deleting messages she didn�t know who they were from and resetting up her mail box�she would then sign off come back later and it was changed again.

That was me.

She had been calling support, same results�nothing could be wrong no two people have the same user name�JUST DON�T HAPPEN.

The other Sandy gave Becky her phone number for me to call her.

I called this other Sandy and found out we live only around nine miles from each other and both have the same username and once they (Embarq) gave me HER password we were sharing an inbox. She was having problems (she thought) with Out Look Express�so she did what I did�go to web mail.

How weird is that???

We talked for awhile and I was feeling much relief�she said she thought she was going crazy too. Her friends were calling and asking her why she was unsubscribing from groups and she was telling them she wasn�t. But hey�they had proof, in their in boxes was her mail asking them not to write her anymore�she didn�t know them. (That was me again)

Same with my mail�she had been sending my mail back with a note�I don�t know you.

So the tangled story goes on. I was on phone support most of the day because when she called this morning they (Embarq) closed my account. Sigh�

It will take some time for me to get this worked out now that I have a new user name. password and e-mail address. If I have not been in touch about my new e-mail address it is because I have been trying to log on to every place I visited once my new mail account changed�the bank, the DMV, tax place, on and on. It is almost impossible to explain when they continue to splash the red letters across the screen, �IMPROPER USER NAME/ PASS WORD.� So back to phone support.

I am tired now and have a life to live out side this computer. So for now I am taking a break and going to the dentist tomorrow�better than fighting this awesome new technology we now have.

It is a curse a da-gone curse! But I love it. Love/hate relationship with my very own computer.

If this did not make sense�welcome to my world.

End of message�session over.

Sandyz
(I still love our new place�counting blessings)

View from dinning room window;

View from computer/art room�I thought of tossing my computer out this window.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!