Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 A.M. - Sunday, Nov. 30, 2008
Red Flag!
First�I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving�ours was nice but cut short as work called us both. Some times little blessings become a caught in the throat��thank you.�

Second�A giant Thank you! for all the heartfelt congratulations and belief my writings may some day fall between two covers. I felt energized and well�ecstatic. I haven�t had that awesome feeling for some time�it was nice and I need to encourage myself more often and spend a few hours dancing on cloud nine.

In the now�reality bites! I received an e-mail stating my manuscript was accepted for publication. Wow! That was quick and I raced up to cloud 12 (is there a cloud 12?�if not I was on air) while an inner part of me thought�wow that was quick. A little too swift�ya think?

They sent me a sample contract, links to have my manuscript copy written, forms to have any �real� people to sign stating it was A-ok to have them mentioned throughout my writings, plus information about laws concerning the use of quotes. They did advise me to have a lawyer look over the contract in the event I would want to negotiate.

Everything appeared to be on the up and up�except that feeling when any thing seems too good to be true, well, it just might be too blasted good to have truth written all over it. I followed every link on the publishers web site, message boards, their book store�you name it I followed the link. All looked grand.

I could hardly function�rapid heart beat�the works. Going to work wasn�t easy my mind all over the place filled with thoughts that within a year I could be a published author. I knew without a doubt this wasn�t a get rich plan�didn�t matter, I don�t write with thoughts some day I�ll be rich�I write with feelings that some day my voice will be heard and maybe someone else might find comfort through my writings. A feeling I have had many times while reading�a connection�knowing we are not alone no matter how mighty the ground shakes beneath us. I wanted to find even one soul in the midst of darkness and rest beside them until they found the courage to stand alone and once again see the beauty of this life. When we grieve the light of life diminishes and as we heal the rainbows of life appear.

I have let go of �hands� that lead me out of darkness I wanted to be one of those that reach back through the sorrows of life to help another.

I am rambling�sorry. I suppose I had to ask once again�why I uncover stones of sadness, examine them, and write about it.

Back to reality�I received a suggestion�if you want to find �dirt� about something�Google in a negative response and check out the links. Remembering of course where there is positive�negative rides the opposing side. During my Google search I found numerous complaint links concerning the publishing company that so quickly offered me a contract.

1. They publish about 80% of all submissions�even some that were poorly written.
2. Communication between author and publisher is poor.
3. Books are print on demand�seldom if ever showing up physically in any bookstores.
4. Most if not all marketing is done solely by the author.
5. Books are priced about 5.00 above the average book in book stores.
6. The contract states books are marketed through Amazon and Barnes and Noble. (Negative web sites indicated this was false.)

The negative list goes on�darn it.

There was a few positive�There are no hidden up-front costs to the author�no cost out of pocket.

I didn�t fall into a depression�just a BLAH�feeling. We do live in a world filled with get rich schemes, scams; rip-off�s �that list goes on indefinite.

I worked the last few days mulling once again�why do I want this book published. Should I submit to another publisher? Who am I... an unknown writer that wrote a manuscript. The writers market is a competitive one�difficult but not unheard of breaking into.

I did a query search of my own�I went to Barnes and Noble and Amazon after going to the publishers site that offered to publish my book and checked titles of new releases. I searched B. & N. for those books and they were all listed, prices ranging from�$19.95 to $14.00. These books might not be physically in their book store but they are available on-line. I did the same with Amazon�they too were all listed for sale. (The ones I checked.)

So the ball is back in my court, decisions are mine. The hard facts are they will put my manuscript in book form, give it an ISBN number, and make it available online through many bookstores�including Amazon. The marketing would be up to me. (The rest of their promises�just could be a load of crap.)

I haven�t a clue what moves I�ll make on this board game of life. But I do know�I will not give up.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!