Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:29 A.M. - Friday, Aug. 15, 2008
Blowing Smoke
I have been busy last few days; my manuscript was on a short time hold as I typed Lord knows how many document�s for my son. I have stayed up late last few nights and was thrilled when I finished. I rewarded myself by dialing up. (At least I am connected)

Husband almost sent me into coronary arrest last Sunday night�his statement still hangs in the air� �I am quitting smoking.�

I didn�t laugh, didn�t fall on my face from shock� (Almost) and I didn�t look at him and say, �Oh what a hoot�.�

That was Sunday�today he has the same pack in his car he had Monday morning when he left for work.

It has been a heck of an adjustment for me just being here. Adding to that scenario I sit at the table and observe him not drinking anything but tea, OK, a root beer here and there. But the man I married was still there as he huffed three packs of smokes a day, sometimes more. I lived in a blue haze.

Monday no smoke, he just sat there staring into space.

Tuesday, he got agitated at the cat. I heard him walk out the door� (Slam door) big sigh�then I heard the ashtray hit the deck of the porch. Damn�he kicked it off the table, but he didn�t light up.

Wednesday he admitted he had smoked a few cigarettes, (hum) how many�

�Four.�

�WHAT? In three days?�

�That�s right,� he told me if he could quit drinking he figured he could stop smoking as well. He said no matter how many times he might �slip,� it would never be in the house again.

Last night he was on the down side his job was rained out after he made the drive, we sat on the porch and he told me quitting wasn�t as hard as he thought it would be.

I�ll be darn�I knew there was hope, and I never mentioned the little prayer I had sent out asking for just a little help for him.

I will always believe in miracles. I am so proud of him, if he chooses to smoke here and there I�ll say nothing, he has smoked from the time he was 10 years old. This was his choice; I hadn�t said a word (lots of wishful thinking from time to time.)

I could smile�and I am.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!