Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:41 P.M. - Saturday, May. 24, 2008
Crash and fry
This evening I am surrounded by computer books, beside me my fried hard drive. It has been like this for over a week. While I was at work my hard drive suffered a power surge. Darn these storms. I even had a power strip claiming to protect my electrical equipment, after paying a guy to fix this little problem I ended up handing him $20.00 for the diagnosis. He handed me a strange looking box with tiny little components that he claimed was my hard drive.

Found out I needed a power strip that costs $45.00 not a Wal-Mart brand. (I�ll unplug when I am gone or during storms.)

For a few hundred bucks he could locate a new hard drive and reinstall applications and windows, ching-ching, I haven�t that kind of money right now.

I wanted to cry with my cyber world cut off; I didn�t realize how much I depended on my computer. I had to look at a map (a real map) to find my dentist, no Goggle, no map quest, I was crushed. No tears though this was nothing really just another day in my life.

I went to work grumbling about my misfortune and as luck would have it my new manager�s son repairs computers and she thought he might have a hard drive cheap-cheap, ended up costing me nothing. Whoopee!

Next step put it back together.

This explains computer books and my neglected house, but I have been working six days a week and I have a head cold, pathetic excuses but true. After work and early morning�s I went through computer books and wondered could I do this myself�decided�why not try.

I had some very frustrating moments and was almost late one morning for work; I slid in and even drank a cup of coffee on the run. I thought all day about the how�s and at night put them in action. I now have my computer up and running.

I had to call my internet provider for assistance getting my e-mail running and my address book is blank. Heck my computer is blank, all files, pictures the works up in smoke. Foresight did save many of my files; I put my writings on disk, pictures on disk, I walked this road before and backed up important things. Not all my favorites though. I lost allot of fun stuff I enjoyed listening to but always forgot about, so I�ll find new things and save them.

I can�t believe I didn�t lose my cool and toss in the towel; I suppose loss felt all to familiar and I knew stewing wouldn�t change a thing, the option was figure out what I could afford to do and get it done.

I feel good tonight my computer is back up and running and after two days of wondering how to get sound I located compatible drivers and downloaded them, now I can hear my computer bleep when I make a mistake. All of a sudden I love that sound.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!