Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 A.M. - Monday, Oct. 01, 2007
Why am I not surprised�
It's been difficult to write because I have worked so hard everyday for the auction. Auction day I worried until we got word the house sold. Everyone was thrilled. Late that afternoon I started calling wondering when I could come home; finally I got word all was in order.

We took a beating is all I care to say, only a few items sold close to a tenth of the value. Most things we "given" away, I was/am sick at heart. The stove was to sold with the house this giving me a way to cook until closing date, some how I was told, "an oversight" they sold it for a whopping price of $10.00, now I have not one appliance in the house. They "thought" I was staying at my dads. Over the many times we sat and talked they knew I was staying right here, no doubts. It was troubling knowing I spent two days cleaning it and it was listed with the house as "like new range and oven" Not a mark on it. Ten dollars???? And my only means to cook anything besides start a fire out in the front yard.

Adding to the sadness the price our belongings will be cut to sheds, we owe them (auctioneers) for all labor, all personnel that helped day of auction. They don't know for sure how many people helped, but the cost is $100.00 a person, plus 21 hundred fliers they made copies of, 12 hundred listing papers (more copies we owe for) that were given to people attending the auction, 6 newspaper ads, and two radio ads. Closing costs, added interest on and on.

What my stupidity clouded was the percentage of the sale of the house they were getting, by the time the auctioneers get their percentage of the entire price of the house, the percentage of the sale and we pay closing, their help and advertising we will receive less than half of the total moneys brought in. No wait we still owe on the house their percentage is for the full price of house, we will get a sliver of a profit. We really get no profit we were robbed per se and let it happen.

I add much blame on that man that was so fired up having to leave, to run away from the pain of loss, to leave me here too face this alone and me trusting people. {HAHAHAHA!!!} He made decisions in haste and many conversations were between him and the auctioneers, because he was the one leaving.

Now that man who will not get enough to even buy a cheap auto will need to get a pay by week place to call home as will I.

I still plan to head south, him�who knows. This grand sale pushed him the rest of the way over the edge. I'm still reeling in shock bit not surprised... the auctioneers are patting themselves on an awesome job; their take home that night was more than I have made in a year at times, ours once we make the split between us will get me to Florida, but no jump on a future like I had longed for. But I will turn this nightmare off and learn to live again when the rubber meets the road, I have learned so much about myself, others, and life during this chapter.

I'll count my blessings and wait for the closing, and I am thankful it is over and the house sold, but I'll be glad to leave this place of heartbreak.

So darn glad.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!