Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:02 A.M. - Wednesday, Aug. 08, 2007
Sisters are like that
In the midst of this madness, my Indiana sister was here, we had two days together.

The first because hindsight is only a gift when looking back, we ended up spending the day in different places each waiting with no way to leave. Oh my, where was the reasoning to take only one Blazer to town that was having a hitch installed. Her hair appointment took only a short time, the Blazer hours. We took it in stride when I finally had transportation and picked her up across town. We got in some shopping not much on my end knowing I was selling, purging, or moving any thing I might have found of interest but there was that one thing�she bought it for me. Sisters are like that.

We enjoyed a chance to talk while traveling here and there, then found an awesome picnic table at the Wal-Mart shopping center and talked for an hour. We decided then to spend the next day at the Buffalo River.

I had this little place in mind but my brother having lived and been all over this area gave us insight on a beautiful place we couldn't miss. Lord I hate it when some one says you can't miss it obviously so does she. That was ok while driving right past the big sign we saw many interesting places, passing Horse Shoe Canyon and heading back down the mountain and we had more time to talk, besides we were in no hurry anyway.

Our destination was Steele Creek, what an awesome place, the river running below some of the most breath taking bluffs here in the Ozarks. We found a little spring fed hideaway pool and sat in mini lawn chairs in the cool clear water. We spent the day talking, laughing reminiscing about our kids that now all have children of their own. We got silly and took pictures of each other falling out of the chairs, and just being as dorky as we could. For a moment in time, we were like our younger selves snapping pictures that will leave memories and hopes that neither will share all of them with others, sisters are like that.

Most the day was calm, besides our silly laughter, no thoughts about tomorrows, any worries or fears, just a day to hold dear for a lifetime. The view of the bluffs, and the tree that could tell tales of centuries gone by that had a giant hole I couldn't convince my sister to climb, get into the large gap and wave hi so I could take a very cool picture of her, was gorgeous.

I lost only a few moments of me in thoughts of sadness knowing I missed so much of the beauty while living here, having a demanding job and not taking the time to stop long enough enjoy the little things. Days on the river don't cost much only time, remember to put your water bottles in a cooler, heck remember the ice chest, we didn't.

We ended the day meeting our brother and sister-in-law for a quiet dinner in town. More talking, each out shouting the other as more memories were born, odd how when adult siblings get together we tend to fall back to childish ways. We laugh too laud, do things to get others to turn their heads as we become clowns from the past. I love it as smiles replace any glum that wouldn't dare enter our shenanigans.

It was a day like those we wish they could go on forever, but life is not like that, so I grab these snippets in time and place them in my mind that I revisit later. Remembering life is in constant motion just as the river flows, some things along the way are breathtaking, some uncertain, but every day beautiful memories are taking form, rather we take the time to stop, look, and listen is a choice we make.

I'm glad my sister was here, I miss her, but no matter where my new journey takes me every time I find myself near water I'll smile remembering the day we had to ourselves. Sisters are like that.

Sandyz
Sisters, late 50's


Sisters, (river rat's 2007)



 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!