Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:46 A.M. - Sunday, Feb. 25, 2007
Embrace the pain
It�s not easy to write about pain physical or mental they both seep into bones and gnaw away rational thoughts. It�s nagging relentless our mind on an emotional roller coaster until some fingers finds a bottle of sorts and quiets the ache. We may lose ourselves in a gray or slumbered world. Relief for just a moment allows us to breathe and not feel imprisoned.

The sacroiliac joint is what I damaged in the fall, muscles bruised, tendons and ligaments torn. Now that I am in physical therapy and wearing a �SI� belt the healing has begun. This has been explained to me as if rubber bands holding something (a joint) in place were stretched beyond capability of holding something in place. The joints holding mechanism no longer tight allowing the joint to come out of place, on a positive note the body being a remarkable vessel has the capability to heal.

I read a book about a year ago, �Where is God when it Hurts,� by Phillip Yancey, thinking at the time I was going to read about our Creator allowing pain per se for us to fully understand life in the flesh. The read was a fascinating scientific view of how remarkable and complex the networking of our bodies actually are. To date duplicating the set of connections of pain scientifically is impossible.

There are those numbered few that have no feelings of physical pain, research on developing an aid to enable those inflected to �feel� pain has been futile. I find this fascinating but not surprising.

Over the last few weeks I have closed my eyes and embraced the pain, not a weird I like pain but to better understand the mechanism of the flesh.

I concentrate on the center of the pinch point as a threaded instrument with the music vibrations of tenderness following cords of life throughout the body. It�s not an upbeat sort of melody more like immersing into darker notes of life that connects us to reality.

Without sadness we know no joy, no tears we understand not the laugh, without the sting of soreness a soft caress would lose the loving embrace.

I am not to descend in a wallowing world of pain, but to embrace long enough to ponder the truly amazing craft that houses our souls.

The healing has begun both physically mentally and another blessing I count.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!