Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:02 P.M. - Friday, Jan. 05, 2007
I remember
Many of my growing up memories was during a time we lived in a neighbor hood, a fenced in yard, little play house built by dad out back, and an above ground pool, we were surrounded by neighbors.

I recall taking a spoon from the kitchen drawer and digging holes in the back yard, I wanted to dig a hole to China.

I had an invisible horse that I kept out back tied to our fence at night.

Walking along railroad tracks wondering what it would be like to keep walking to another town, also I recall following the creek beds wishing I could keep walking around just one more bend in the stream�over one more hill before our curfew was over.

Lying on the grass watching the clouds, finding shapes and thinking it would be awesome to travel on a cloud.

Racing through the cornfields playing tag then finding an abandoned trailer, this became our fort one summer.

Finding a patch of wooded area that housed a huge dirt pile, endless games of King of the Hill were played there.

Climbing trees and kind of building a tree house�a few wood slats and nails did the trick. I loved the feeling of being in the trees while looking out beyond that little patch of woods.

I remember hop-scotch, little red wagon, jump rope, pick-up sticks, 45-records spinning on the record player on the porch�dancing to the Locomotion. Singing the lyrics to Johnny Angel.

I remember thinking the worst punishment was having to stay inside the house.

The cool things were to be allowed to take the bus down town, to cross the street or be allowed to ride our bikes around the block.

The swimming pool behind the high school, sock hop night at the grade school, swings, slides and picnic tables in front of the big screen at the out door movies.

Today I was just remembering, smiling, reminiscing.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!