Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:33 A.M. - Tuesday, Dec. 05, 2006
Miracles? Part 2
{{For those who shared under comments "Leave your footprint here" on my last entry, thank you with all my heart. I love reading about others that have had an enlightening spiritual experience. How thrilling}}

I feel exceptionally excited recalling this mystery because my three children were with me and recall this event.

This was one of the low times in our life; our world went from comfort to a fragile existence. We had lost our home, I left a high paying job and my auto was destroyed in an accident I was not involved in. The separation from the kid's father was what prompted a move to a neighboring state resulting in my three children and me living on basic needs. We needed some assistance to help us even with my meager job at the hospital, and painting coffee cups or mailboxes for income. We had a large garden canned food and made our own jellies. At this time we didn't have a working television, we had each other.

My mother lived in Tennessee and us in a tiny little town in Mississippi, about a two-hour drive a tank of gas. The car I was driving was what we called a "beater" but it got us to and from places of importance. One of those places was our visit to moms at least once a month.

This particular trip was extraordinary; we had traveled the road many times and could tell from the little towns we passed from the highway about how far we were from the state line. It was night the road dark, at each exit along the way were bright lights of sleepy little towns, Batesville was half way and most lit up than all others.

Before leaving our little place in the county, I had filled the gas tank, checked tires and off we went into the night.

The Junker I drove didn't have a working radio so at times I would make up stories to tell the kids to help pass the time and to keep bickering to a mild roar.

A few nights before I had had a troubling time, picked up the Bible, and read "Revelations." I was fascinated and read it several more times, visualizing end of times. When I read I do that I see the words in visual and embrace the experience of an authors writing.

During the beginning of our trip my mind was clouded by the words from the Bible I had read. When the kids begin to ask "how far now," I started telling the story of Revelations.

I have never felt such silence around me as my voice recalled the parts of the Bible that had intrigued me just a few nights before. I recall my youngest leaning over the seat taking every word in, I am guessing she was 3 or 4 years old. My son was around seven, the oldest, around 11. I myself felt excited, in a trance like existence telling the last story in the Bible.

The bright lights caught my attention and I remember thinking we were half way to Memphis, but the sign read, "Welcome to Tennessee" I couldn't believe it, no way had it felt like a two hour trip.

Alarmed I looked at the gas gauge, the needle had not moved from the full position. One of the things that worked was the gas reading. I had an eerie feeling and asked the kids if they recalled seeing any of the little towns along the way. The two oldest said they hadn't seen any lights and couldn't believe we were almost to grandmas house.

While coming through West Memphis I saw the time flashing on a bank sign, the exact time we had left Mississippi. This couldn't be I remember thinking.

"Look at the gas we didn't use any, and the time hasn't changed. How did we get here?" The words came out of my mouth in amazement.

My youngest said, "Mommy, we were flying."

When we got to moms place, I told her about it, the kids recalled the Bible story I told then, and my youngest continued to say we were flying. They all remember to this day the night we got to Memphis in what felt like a few minutes.

I returned the next day to Mississippi and used a tank of gas; the time it took to get back was two hours.

What ever happened that night I'll never know in this life time, but a part of me believes God gave me the opportunity to share his word with my children uninterrupted by worldly goings on. I continued to share Bible stories throughout lives, never did any thing extraordinary happen again but I always felt at peace sharing the "Word" and an awesome feeling when ever I recall that night so long ago.

more to come

Sandyz


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!