Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:16 P.M. - Friday, Oct. 13, 2006
Back from a vacation paradise
That downward spiral, the one that takes you back to the fast paced way of life that for a short time you were able to escape from.

Back from a vacation paradise lost again in a swirling mix of work and little sleep, angry thoughts, and the feeling of peace sucked out from my lungs before I had the chance to exhale slowly.

I needed to write about my day/night at the beach before it was stripped from my mind as the air around me turns my memories into the dust that covers the world at work.

We had the most incredible time, an early afternoon check in at one of the beach front resorts, an awesome view of the ocean from our ninth floor balcony.

The room was gorgeous, had a kitchen, refrigerator, but most spectacular was the view of the ocean from the balcony.

We started the day right on the beach, sitting and talking about the days past and present. We ventured out into the ocean and enjoyed being tossed about by the waves. We retreated to the out door pool and swam, sat, swam sat. By the time we ended the day out in the sun we both were burnt, but happy. It was one of those days that you wish could go on forever.

We found a great place to eat, and then back to the beach we went. Took a stroll up and down the coast line looking for little shells to take back with us, I even took some sand in a sandwich bag I hope the sand patrol doesn't read this.

We then decided what the heck we could end an awesome day by having a few drinks while reminiscing about a time a few meant "all nighter."

The closest place they said was a block down the street, we walked, walked, and after about four blocks we decided if it wasn't within the next block we would head back. Lord and behold, there it was about five blocks from our resort. We had a great time at the little bar, had a drink and a jello shooter.

When we left the bar as luck would have it, the rains had made an appearance and it was like someone pouring water from a bucket. We made a dash for it and ran half the way to the resort until ducking under another a canopy. We were laughing so hard I could hardly breathe, we stood there soaked to the skin�my friend hands down would have won the wet tee shirt contest she wore white {snicker} and we made the decision to race the rest of the way back, bare foot in the night. Even more awesome memories from long ago. I recall an entry I had written not so long ago about racing through the night

We returned to the lobby dripping wet and laughing like we were nuts. There were several people sitting in the parlor playing cards as we giggled and ran by. I believe I shouted on my way by, "it's raining!"

What a wonderful time we had, and the next morning I sat out on the balcony with coffee in hand watching a breathtaking sunrise.

I flashed back in time nearly 30 plus years ago and felt the youth and wonder of standing on the beach, just a young woman making her own foot step in the sand. I recall feeling so very small in the wake of such a magnificent body of moving water.

I felt small again sitting on the balcony humbling myself before the earth and all her wonders.

I thank God this trip was made possible by several wingless angels, and many amazing memories were given birth. Time out makes life feel every breath we take is worth it, even the ones that may bring a tear or doubt.

Sandyz
Thirty plus years of memories

"Here's to you Joy"

Ocean View from balcony

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!