Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:09 P.M. - Sunday, May. 14, 2006
A time to reflect...Mothers Day
I recall years ago watching Phyllis Diller, she said, "one day I was putting on a sweater and my mothers arm came out."

I laughed until tears streamed down my face. I love that woman's humor.

A few days ago I was reminded of that show. I glanced in the mirror, pulled my hair up to see what I might look like with shorter hair. Mom looked back. I stood in amazement at the resemblance I saw in the glass. I could see our mother in me.

Mom has long hair now but as I lifted my hair over my collar it was mom I saw stare back at me.

A speck of us will return in each generation. Rather it be the hair color, nose, smile, eyes, or in Phyllis's case, an arm.

I was not saddened to see a part of mother steal a glance at me through the mirror. I felt honored to keep the family traits moving with the beat of time.

Some people see me and say I look like my father others my mom. When I walk along side my sister or display photos of her and her family there is no doubt we are our mothers daughters, and us sisters. Within my sisters children a part of her shines through.

I see my brother when I see his daughter smile, and her mother as I look into her eyes.

I wonder if someday when my girl's gaze into a looking glass and see part of me look back if they will smile as I did.

I hope they do.

Thanks mom for giving me life, being the mother in me, my friend, and loving through the years with unconditional love. I hope you have a wonderful Mothers Day you so deserve a special day for all the sacrifices you have made for us through the years.

Thank you God for allowing our mom to continue to share her earthly time with us, distance in miles does not dissipate our love or keep us apart during this journey. Each day I continue to see and feel a part of mom in me, and for this I count yet another blessing.

Sandyz

(This is a rewrite of an entry I wrote back in 2004... Mothers Day what an awesome time to rekindle this flame.)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!