Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:40 A.M. - Friday, Dec. 23, 2005
I thought about life
After cleaning up this place yesterday I sat back and looked at our little Christmas tree. I was looking at my reflection in one of the little red glass balls attached to the branches. My image was distorted and an odd kind of light glittered around my face within the shiny ball. I thought about life.

In my mind I imagined the ball growing larger and falling to the floor from weight that no longer could be held by a little twig attached to the tree. I saw it fall in slow motion and shatter in to fragments when colliding with the floor. My over acting mind as some have called it, drifted over to the broken bulb and begin to examine the tiny remains.

I saw a variation of reflections of myself in each sliver, none the same. The face looking back was mine although each looked back as distinctive images. I thought about my life.

When I was born I was the perfect shiny ball that only reflected what was all around me, a light shone the one spot as with all the balls upon the tree. If the lights were blinking there might be times of darkness if only for a moment.

Now my life was shattered in millions of pieces lacing the floor. I tried to fit the shards together and reclaim my perfect self. Impossible, there was no going back, no changing the chapters of my life. I had not noticed before the little ball had crack's, worn out places, some of the shiny new had worn off. Before the fall the decoration had already become a victim of time.

As I examined some of the wreckage I realized what I saw was my life in segments. When I visualized the glass as whole again, not perfect as one could not fit each piece back in exact order. There would be flaws. I thought about life.

I took an envelope and place the broken red ball in a little box and mentally marked it memories. I sat back again and studied the tree and all the decorations; it was still pretty as my reflection bounced from one shiny ball to another. The angel above quietly watched over all as her little lights danced in tune with my heart.

A new year is fast approaching and soon this tree would find a home back to earth from which it was born, next year a new tree will grow and replace this year. None will be the same, even the decorations will weather with time and new ones replace the old.

Our lives are tested by time, some times we shatter or fall but as our eyes reopen to a new day we understand this progression is how we chose to view life. With every shattered bulb a new us becomes born again, and we rest within the branches of life with all the others. We dance in tune with each other and shed tears for those that fall from the tree feeling they can never return. We have many births within our life time and with each a better understanding how fragile life is.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!