Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:44 A.M. - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Thanksgiving memory
Waking before dawn to clean the bird.
Cutting up onions, celery, bread, I smiling not saying a word.
The house so very silent as others still dream.
Tossing together various fruits adding a touch of whipped cream.

Veggies on a plate for a circular show
Their colors combined set off a mystical glow
So much left to do as little feet hit the floor
Come here you can help me those smiles I adore

Oh, you don't like that please little one's don't pout
I'll make cookies and candies too many to count.
As smells of Thanksgiving fill the air
Our house full of loved ones their lives we share

So many more are coming no seats for them all
Bring in the picnic table and use benches for the tall.
It is a day of Thanksgiving we long to be near
Telling stories hearing laughter giving hugs to those dear

The magic of the day sits before us in wait
All huddled together waiting to fill each plate
We pause for a moment and give thanks one by one
What is it you feel blessed with just think it will come

My blessing that day was about love and hope
Faith filled the air knowing whatever life tossed I would cope
Not loss nor distance would sever the magic that day
A Thanksgiving of memory and I thank God if I may.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving making beautiful memories.
Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!