Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 A.M. - Sunday, Oct. 09, 2005
A little tooth
I lost two days of my life. I recall so little about them as I was here but not here. The pain was a reminder that I am still alive, the infected tooth a knowing gift I still have my own.

How one can lose a few days recalling so little about them because of an abscessed tooth is odd. The infection they say had traveled through the cavity of my sinuses and ear. My system was so malfunctioning pain found a foothold in every joint in my body. I was unable to stand upright and recall nothing about my last drive home from work. Now that is scary.

Hubby said we sat on the couch and watched CSI he had taped for us; I recall nothing of the show. Last night we watched a movie, well, he did I was in and out. I would sleep a few hours wake up take the meds and return to a hazy world, better than my wake time when my body sent shock waves through my system.

All this for a bad tooth, one I made the choice to save, although my dentist could not have pulled it right then as the infection would have spread throughout my system.

He decided best course of action was to drill up to the infected cavity and place a toothpick size drain to let it drain at a slower pace and start antibiotics. Then he placed cotton to absorb the intrusion and place a soft cap to keep the cavity closed and drainage out of my mouth. What happened? My system absorbed some of the poison before the meds had a chance to gather their defense army.

This morning I woke up and all the scrambled thoughts, disorientated feelings and most the pain is gone.

October 18th I will return to the dentist and he will complete the root canal. I was wondering if this was all worth saving one tooth. I came to the conclusion yes and no. No because I had forgot how bad pain can be, yes because I endured this and again reminded how fragile our systems can be.

There was no warning, no pain before the day I thought my head was exploding and called the dentist.

Today is a good day and I feel like smiling. I suppose that at times it takes a lost day or two to be thankful for life in the now, just a reminder, and all because of a little tooth.

Sandyz


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!