Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:25 A.M. - Saturday, Sept. 17, 2005
A step back
Today I decided to go back to my previous design and fix my links. I am a work in progress when it comes to learning how to add links to my diary. I was a little melancholic but pleased to feel the comfort of the girl on a horse once again, my deep love of horses is what leads me to this design.

So many people have offered to help me with the question of HTML but with my waking hours being in the middle of the night, most "normal" folks are deep in slumber. I am so thankful for everyone that did offer me help.

A time will come I will find a template that screams out, "USE ME!" In addition, it will be user friendly for those of us that are picking our way through the dark.

I am not in dismay because I know I am better than I was back when I started keeping an on-line diary, I had a heck of a time trying to add an entry. It was months before I found out people could leave comments and I was thrilled reading them. I did not have a clue what it meant to archive entries. That sounded like a vegetable to me.

Another reason I felt compelled to go back to the woman on a horse template, besides the fact I never could get the links to show up on my new one was that I have closed another chapter in my life.

My life of having horses is a memory now. When we moved to this wonderful place, I had envisioned horses running across the pastures we have. We have three times the acres we had in PA. What we do not have is fences, barns, a place to keep hay, and all the important things you need for horses. What I had was mega boxes full of horse stuff, including three awesome saddles.

Reality hit after my hubby had surgery that my dream of living along side horses again was fading. The more time that has gone by I have concluded that era in our life is over. We have so much to do finishing building our home by the time we could get all the necessities up and a horse in place I would be too old to work and give the love and attention to an animal that deserves more time than I have.

As the chapter closed, I sold all my saddles and horse things. It was a sad day.

I remind myself of all the awesome years I had living out a childhood dream. Many people do not have that opportunity, I feel blessed.

I think today about the saying, "For every thing there is a season�" this season for us has ended and a new dream will be born.

Time marches on even when we are not ready to let go of the strength that comes with youth. This is a journey we all take while here on earth. It is not always easy seeing the youth in us start to turn grey and the bones grow weary from years of travel. In many ways, it is an honor to have walked upon this path for over 50 years, to witness so many changes and to continue to keep pace with the never-ending tides of life.

My day of sadness has ended as I continue to leave footprints in the sands of time and finally say goodbye to a life I once lived. When old ways are set to rest new things spring to life, and now my thoughts are drifting in a different direction.

Life is good and through it all, I feel blessed, bittersweet at times but blessed.

In the coming days I will allow my mind to seek out a different direction and new ideas will fill the void. Forward I go as I continue my journey through life.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!