Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:29 A.M. - Sunday, Sept. 11, 2005
May every hand that reaches out connect with a loving heart.
"He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, "Peace! Be still!" Then the wind died down and it was completely calm." Reminding us not to worry because Jesus has it all under control." -Mark 4:39

Sandyz thoughts;

I was up early this morning thinking about all my �problems.� An early morning pity party per say. Having a summer cold doesn�t help the spirit but it is a reminder how we neglect to be thankful for the times we feel great. I hadn�t realized how long it had been that I had a cold until this one found its way to my lungs. Nasty cough.

Utmost on my mind is the images I continue to see each time I turn on TV, or pick up a news paper, lives that will forever be altered. I look around this room my safe haven, a place to reflect on life and wonder what would it be like to have it all swept away in an instant. I walk through my kitchen and imagine all I have within the space and again think what if it was all destroyed. The pictures on the wall, letters from loved ones I keep stored in a shoe box, albums full of memories, videos of days gone by. How would I feel if I were standing out side looking at wreckage that once was called home, all I had left of my life was the clothes I wore as I left in panic as the place came tumbling down.

My thoughts move on and I contemplated how I would feel if I was sitting on our roof as flood waters raced all around while hopelessly trapped wondering if any one would come rescue us. What if sitting close my husband sat searching through the raging storm for anything he had once called his own. Our land altered, building�s he built all washed away and all the man tools he has bought over the years were somewhere floating in the rising waters.

Our beloved pets if we had gathered them up and held them close to us, their frightened eyes trusting us to keep them safe, would they feel our fear. Our families, children and grandkids, would our hearts long to find out if they too had in the least made it to higher ground. Would we panic wondering if any thing that once was a day to day hum-drum would ever be the same? Our friends, their families the anxiety would be overwhelming. I can think about this but feeling the pain is too intense as those shoes I wear not.

Back to my little part of the world I sit again and recap my trivial complaints and heartaches I deal with everyday. My world has not been altered in a devastating way; I am not wondering where I will attempt to place my roots and find a new place to grow. I am not displaced waiting on news of hope that others I knew are safe in another part of the country.

I know where my loved ones and friends are.

I am saddened for the grief those that have endured the ultimate pain of loss in many forms. My heart breaks each day as the images of those in pain come to life, their stories, their pleas, the longing for maybe something as normal as not being able to pay the house note. Something I might agonize over.

I remind myself not to get caught up with whom to blame and feel ultimate disgust with. All here on earth is in Divine order. The Lord has never left the spirits of those that felt the wrath of Mother Nature, nor those that are no longer with us today.

As hard it is to understand God�s plan in order to continue to move through this journey in life we must remember faith is taken from no one that believes.

Through faith hope is born, through hope dreams can again form as life will move forward, as will those that have lost material things and now feel the anguish of ones that didn�t make it here on earth.

I in no way believe this was God�s plan, it just happened and faith in a higher power will be the instrument that will help lead those that feel lost as the songs in their hearts are silenced. Each day the healing will continue and new lives will be born to those that have lost their past way of living. Today is a new day, with prayers so many are sending, help from thousands that care, and the gentle love of our Lord who weeps with those that feel the pains of loss, hearts will heal.

It matters not who those people are, race, wage earnings, middle class, or the wealthy, they all suffered and God is watching over each soul.

I pray this disaster does not bring about evil, hatred, blaming, or lost souls. Nothing that happened yesterday can be undone, today is where we are and forward is the only footpath before us.

May the Lord be with each and every soul affected by tragedy, may prayers reach every heart, may hope replace the sorrow, and may every hand that reaches out connect with a loving heart.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!