Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:22 A.M. - Wednesday, Jul. 27, 2005
Nocturnal creature
Here I am again writing on the computer while most of the world sleeps. I am fast approaching my 4th year as a nocturnal creature. My work hours gnaw away 12 hours of the night. That leaves 12 hours to make the drive up the mountain, eat, and take care of necessities then sleep before reporting back to work at 7pm.

I am off tomorrow but that does little for a mind that spends day light hours in slumber. I want to sleep but I have found you do not make yourself fall sleep. You're either going to slip away to dream or the mind will do somersaults keeping awake. My body is achy and tired but the mind is racing like an out of control locomotion.

Tonight is also the end to a heat wave, at this moment I am listening to rain falling after duration of our fields emerging into flammable kindling. I am grateful for this, as I know many farmers are in dire need of rain for their fields. I recall those days.

We had company from out-of-state. As usual, I missed most of the visit. In my night world, I am use to this. Most folks are not willing to come out and play in the wee hours of the night. In all fairness, I too can be worthless through day light hours until I have a few hours of sleep.

Better luck next time I tell myself not believing it any more.

I will do as I do best, write past midnight feeling lucky my felines are enjoying my company.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!