Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:37 P.M. - Friday, Jul. 08, 2005
Drifting thoughts
Being off work today I found my thoughts drifting past to present to future and back. I realized right away what was going on and decided not to lose another day pondering what if, what could I, and so forth.

I went out on the porch and (please don't try to visualize this) got my dollar float raft and placed it in my turtle splash pool I have on the porch. The pool might be small but while floating with my eyes closed I could be in a lake and not experience much difference.

I listened to the hummers buzzing. They at times sound like big bees. We have so many of them; they zip between feeder's squabbling and fussing among themselves. Still I love to hear them.

I floated atop the water just allowing my mind to focus on my breathing, identifying the sounds of nature around me, and staying right in the moment. I begin to feel refreshed and turned over resting my elbows on the plastic pillow allowing my eyes to scan the world around me. I studied the trees, how the wind just barely brushed the leaves. Their melody was not heard although the waltz of life was taking place every time the air changed around them.

I watched hawks circle far above me their cries heard across the mountain. A tiny bird was perched beside the feeder singing praise to the day. I watched two road runners fluff and ruffle their feathers scurrying about in search of prey. I noticed two ears in the high grass, a sign the deer felt safe at this time to lay awhile finding refuge within the fields.

The sky was the bluest of blues. I rested my gaze on the brilliance of color. Huge billowing clouds were outlined in various shades of gray expelling a beauty to behold.

I sat in quiet meditation and knew all I am blessed with.

When I came in I put in a Yoga DVD and worked out for an hour, I consumed this time with silent prayer.

I was determined today to keep in the moment, not to fret about upcoming days or lean back into yesterdays. I keep working on finding that quiet place in my life each day, the place that knows all is in divine order and when a burden becomes too heavy to continue walking, remember to hand it over to our Lord.

Today is a good day, today is just for today.


Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!