Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:24 P.M. - Friday, May. 13, 2005
Closer to Him
I was thinking about meditation the other night at work. From those that have heard me ramble you must know my mind never quiets. It takes off when I first awake and never silences during my waking hours.

A few days ago, I found myself alone at the house. This is unusual because my husband has been home bound since Nov following his surgery. I took my Yoga mat to the front porch over looking the mountains in the distance and followed some Yoga moves. I decided to try again to meditate.

I have done quite well at quieting my mind while easing the burdens of life from it. Still this has been a battle thinking of things, then reminding myself to keep silent.

I sat on my mat and closed my eyes. I concentrated first on the rhythm of my heart. Then I moved to the steady movement of my breath moving in and out of my chest. I emptied my mind of all thoughts allowing only the morning sounds to register. I heard the wind far above me rustle along the tops of the trees. I heard the hummers zipping around the feeders, squabbling amongst themselves. I head the birds far and near calling out into the early morning.

I mentally placed each of these sounds on an imaginary cloud and sent them on their way. For a brief moment, I felt the total absence of thought. I felt my mind empty of all things and it seemed as though I was at one with all. Before I could receive the full impact on this oddity for me my mind simultaneously, begin to place each sound with an entity, the buzz from a bee and so on.

This was the first time that I have really experienced the true feeling of mediation. I have been on and off practicing this for a few years. I have gotten better but this day I was with one.

I feel good about this as I have yet to experience this before. I will continue to meditate and find that quiet place that I can feel in touch with a Higher Being, feel pure peace within, and united with all.

Within the silence of meditation, I felt closer to Him than ever before.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!