Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:00 A.M. - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I believe
I couldn't sleep tonight thinking about religion.

What is it about having faith that helps me through such troubling times? Why do I feel warmth deep within my being that comforts me when I sit and pray? Why when I hear an amazing song about faith, do I hear in my mind a chorus of angelic voices sing in praise and become so emotional the tears flow freely?

I have read about numerous religions, none in my heart do I feel is wrong. Each of us is marking a path to follow in this life and know where we hope to spend eternity. Many of us have a different take on how we might end up in the utopia promised by the God we pray to. Or not.

I cannot for the life of me judge another's belief, say they are wrong, and my passion only is the way through the gates of paradise.

I have yet to hear the voice of God. Jesus has not come before me and allowed me to bare witness. I have not spent years in church having the gospel preached to my heart all through my life.

Most of my belief has come from years of living, reading and studying the Bible and various religions. My spiritual side was awakening many years ago by unexplained events that were blessed upon me after time in prayer. What fell in place as to what path I would chose to follow was the profound feeling of knowing when I connected with the words within the Bible.

My life has been a series of stores all connected by divine interventions, answered prayers, some that took years and were not to the exact what I had longed for, but never less they were answered still.

I can feel the look on Mary's face when our savior was born and placed within her embrace. I know the love. I can suffer the anguish with the Mother of Christ as Jesus was placed upon the cross as prophesied. My soul cries, tears unseen by man for the loss and gain the world received when the Son of God gave of Himself.

For what?

For all mankind to have a path to heaven reveled to them for infinity when we cross from this life to the next.

I know of this just as I know the earth is round, the life we live here is a mere speck in an eye compared to the hereafter. I feel it, I touch it, see it, smell it, and I hear it. The sounds of God rivet through out my body and keep me within a sane state of peace during these times of tremendous stress, anxiety, profound sadness, and grief. I find humor at the edge of life's cliff and fall backwards laughing not forward into an abyss. I continue to find joy and have hope for brighter days in waiting.

I know I am never alone and feel the presence of an embrace that could only belong to our Supreme Being.

Do I have a spiritual side? Yes. Do I believe in God and that his only son Jesus was born to the Virgin Mary and that he gave his life for ALL mankind. Yes. Do I feel an overwhelming sadness for our stupidity for not believing the Lord was a Shepard of man and wanted only to tell of His Fathers undying love for us? Yes. Do I continue to pray the Lord will forgive us all just as his Son prayed during his final hours for us to be forgiven, as we knew not what we were doing? Yes.

Do I believe schools should keep prayers with in the classroom? Yes. I still recall the peaceful feeling I had as a child asking God to walk with me. I still today request His steps are matched with mine. Just as I did so many years ago before I had the opportunity to search for questions, I knew I have yet to walk alone. Many times throughout my life, I have been carried through storms.

Today when I closed my eyes I wrapped my arms around HIS neck, I rested with comfort, my head laid upon the shoulder of our Lord. I closed my eyes and let our savior help bring me through the storm and I felt reassured and loved.

Oh yes�with out a doubt I believe.

Years ago, I planted little seeds within my children's hearts. I pray today those seeds have taken root and they too can experience the gentle love of a Shepard boy that brought faith, love, and hope to our world, no matter what obstacles are set before us.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!