Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:48 P.M. - Saturday, Feb. 05, 2005
A dance through life captured by lyrics of an album
Almost three years ago at a writer's class, we were asked to try to sell a CD/VHS/album to the other students by writing about the songs alas, "selling" it to others.

After spending so much time in my quest for answers, I thought of the album this afternoon and decide to post the piece I wrote back in 2002.

I dusted off the pages and typed them up today. It was a fun write, light and airy. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did back when I wrote it and again today reminiscing about a time in my life so long ago.


{{Fellow writers, much to my dismay I am aware I won't be selling you an album today. Although I had many grand albums in which to choose from, I discovered a great portion of my music collection was either misplaced or left behind during our move to Arkansas. To maintain my sanity I'll opt they are lurking in the corner of our shed and anticipate the possibility I have over looked them. I have a small collection of tunes that was packed in our stereo cabinet. Consequently, all is not lost.

The album I have chosen may be considered a strange one. It was not out of desperation that I did pick this one. I selected it because after all these years, it's history and impact on me is profound. I find through this album a road I traveled, memories flashing like the iridescent lights of long ago. I lived the words to every song that is harmonized; I can again dance in the past and journey back to a world that help mold me into the complex and at times unstable person I am today. I present to you�

"Protest Rock"

"The Best of 60s and 70s Rock"

This album can be a writer's paradise if you dare to travel with me. The deep-seated meanings to many of these songs were spurred by the times we lived through. Some of the music set within the cries of protests may not please every listener. However, listen closely my writer friends as these lyrics paint pictures of days gone by. These images are forever etched in my soul and may be awakened by this collection of artist's from their pleas for peace. Therefore, as I drag you down memory lane, I'll spare you the long version and we'll take the high road. (No pun intended) Our journey begins with�

1. "He Ain't Heavy He's My Brother," The Hollies. This is a song about life, love, and hope. The lyrics sound to me like the telling of a journey, our willingness to give our hearts for a friend in need. {"The road is long that leads us to who knows where. He ain't heavy, he's my brother/ no burden is he/he would not encumber me/ If I am leaning at all I am leaning with sadness�It's a long, long road from which there is no return�"} This song gives me chills. Memories of a life full of friendships and the paths we traveled during a rebellious time of uncertainty. People that flowed with us during the movement so long ago all became brothers and sisters. We were links to an endless chain that spread from coast to coast. Looking back, the lyrics continue to speak to me today, {"�from which there is no return."}
2. "Eve Of Destruction," Barry McGuire. During the wars, Viet Nam and Korea, here in the States we were at battle with integration and the hippie movement. Writers were pouring out songs of protest while singers and groups were bringing Rock & Roll to a new high. With the power that this song was sung and the pounding of the drums, these words were pushed deep into the hearts of an already rebellious generation. {"Send our boys to war when they are to young to vote/ hate your neighbor but don't forget to say grace/ hearts believe we were living on the edge/ we were on The Eve of Destruction."} This song about conflict thrust deep into the souls of an already hungry to rebel group. We listened. During this time the line between the suits and the hippies were clearly drawn.
3. "Turn, Turn, Turn (To Everything There Is A Season) �The Byrds. This is a song about peace; something this restless crowd needed desperately but wasn't even aware of that necessitate. We embraced this song and found an inner peace. This paved way to a spiritual side to our rebellion. We now realized what we were in search of, a Garden of Eden. ("A purpose for everything under heaven/ a time to love a time to hate/a time for war a time for peace/a time to gain a time to lose."} These lyrics swayed to a gentle melody moving from opposing ends of emotion. This became our love song of hope. The movement was in full swing. We were gliding towards a point in time that made way for peace in our hearts. {"A time to forgive."}
4. "I Shall Be Released"- The Band (Bob Dylan.) These mournful cries hold a double meaning. The gentle guitar picking set the stage for this song about a man lost within him self. One could interpret the lyrics as a man framed and tossed in prison without cause. Conversely, if you take a deeper listen you may find a soul searching for peace within his self. This song tells a story about the times. ("Every man needs protecting/every man must fall/I see my reflection above the wall/ I shall be released."} The movement was driven by the right to be heard. During this time, freedom of speech moved deeper into freedom of expression. The price paid was often high. However, the band played on.
5. "People Got To Be Free." The Rascals. This is a fast paced and catchy tune. I recall large gatherings on Daytona Beach. Car stereos were blasting and lookouts for the cops. We sang this song, {"Shout it from the mountains, shout it from the seas/ what a lovely world this could be if we all could learn to live together�/learn to love one an other/ everyone wants to be free."} The news broadcasted wave after wave of body counts that were being lost at war. People were infuriated, "send the boys home!" Reports were blasting that the Viet Nam battle was a senseless war. Riots at schools that were being forced into integration were bumping headlines for the top spot. Rock and Roll became our voice. {"Shout it from the mountains�we got to be free!"}
6. "Get Together"- The Youngbloods. The placid melody and lyrics to this song places it on the top of my list for this album. This song opened a path to simpler times. It was during this epoch I recall some of my fondest memories in connection with the hippie movement. {"Come on people now, smile on your brother try to love one an other right now/ You can make the mountains sing or make the angels cry/some people come and some may go, sunlight fading on the grass/if you hear you will understand you hold the key to love and pain."} You must listen closely to the words. I don't have them written down, recalling only what my memory allows. War torn pictures in our minds were set aside and we continued searching for utopia. We found solace with each other, Protest Rock our voice.
7. "One Tin Soldier" (The legend of Billy Jack)-Coven. The story of Billy Jack was another song welding a double-edged blade. Valley people versus mountain folks. {"Go ahead and cheat your neighbor, go ahead a cheat a friend, do it in the name of heaven you'll justify it in the end� one tin soldier rides alone."} I do not recall one person that was linked by our chain that didn't see the movie or know this song. We were outraged and Billy Jack became our hero. He fought the cause. During this movement in time, blacks/Hispanics/Indian's, people of all walks of life joined us as brothers and sisters. This song marked yet another instance of change.
8. "War"-Edwin Starr. Drums pounding and a dynamic singer, it was yet another powerful a song of opposition. We shouted these lyrics during many a protest. ("War! What is it good for? Nothing! War can't give you life it can only take it away.") Looking back, I realize this might have been ludicrous. However, during this moment in time it felt right.
Hurdy Gurdy Man"-Donovan. Another of my favorites. I have/had the entire collection of Donovan. I remember while living at home Rock & Roll was born. My brother and I would sing the lyrics to "Mellow Yellow" and "Susan On The West Coast Waiting." Him pounding on the drums me strumming the guitar. I played off key I might add, but sing we did. Hurdy Gurdy was a man that sang songs of love. The lyrics have a deep meaning to me but to truly feel the song you must listen yourself.

Donovan, The Beatles, Elvis, and so many others were on the move a few years before I came to realize I too had a restless soul. Some of the "forbidden" music is what spurred me to search inward and finally follow the path a new generation had laid before me.

Thinking back I still have little regret I followed the movement, better yet was apart of it. I have often wondered if I could haven chosen a time I would have wanted to be born when would it have been. I presume it would have been right when I was.

I was there when Rock& Roll pushed it's way into the hearts of our generation, a time of rebellion, searching, and a time for change. I still mourn each time a singer or writer is lost to us. A part of history fades away. We can keep them alive through their lyrics and music.

I have a profound love of music and listen closely to the words. I want to understand what the writer is trying to say. A voice that wants to be heard yet most important desires to be understood.}}

I hope you enjoyed the trip back through time. If not I have but one thing to quote�

"Your nobody unless you get booed some times." Bob Dylan


Sandyz


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!