Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 A.M. - Saturday, Oct. 30, 2004
Remembering the way
I slept almost 10 hours today. This is so unlike me. I work nights and generally sleep only a few hours through the day. Today was a warm windy day. I think sleeping through the day with one ear open to the wind is like listening to a lullaby from long ago. The mind seems to drift far above on a cloud and sleep takes over.

When I woke up, I felt groggy. Being it was in the afternoon I did not want my coffee fix that I always have to start a day. I decided on a walk through the woods.

This is unlike me as well, I always have coffee when I wake up and go directly to the computer.

Stepping out of routine is an odd feeling. Felt as if I might have left my shoe untied or something missing with my attire. I took a quick look over my body and I was ready, even had my watch on. (Boots were laced and notched up)

The walk down the hill to the woods was pleasant. Upon entering the woods, I could smell the damp leaves that settled on the forest floor after their release during the resent winds and rain. I love the smell of fall. At this time of year, being the reverse of spring where I feel everything is new and coming alive. During the fall, I feel as if a chapter is ending while a new one is in the making. So goes with the cycle of life.

Deep into the woods I find the familiar logging trail I love to follow. My mind spin's out of control wondering about the wearers of all the feet that have treaded this path before. I can almost hear the distant voices of the past shirting atop the trees then brushed away with the wind. The sounds of nature and smells of the earth surround me as I hike deeper into the woods. I feel calm and quiet within me. The ramblings have stopped and I step out of the forest and take seat upon an enormous rock.

As I absorb the bird's eye of the world below and beyond me, the beauty set before me captivates me. The bluff formation I am resting on is similar to the one I am facing. Miles below this spot are valley, and the river. I take in this quite time and say a prayer; I count my blessings as I have many.

Sitting here tonight I think again about my walk, how wonderful this life is and how very blessed I am to be alive. I pray I can take the peaceful feel I received today and carry it with me during my day-to-day grind. If I feel caught up in too many negative thoughts, I will try to remember to take a walk down to the bluffs even if I only have the opportunity at the time to walk back through my mind to get there.

I know the way.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!