Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:17 P.M. - Friday, Oct. 22, 2004
A short delay?
Last night I worked hoping every moment this might be my last night shift. I was told awhile back I was slotted for day shift�I got the transfer. Some time between the moons rotation around earth boss man told me it would be two to three weeks before they could make the transition.

I felt sad, but just knowing the time will come when I�ll awake with the birds song and work in tune to the rhythm of my internal clock helped me make it through another long shift. Some day soon they say.

Hard to believe it�s been over three years I have been walking through those doors greeting the night. I�ll wager it will take time for my system to turn around again. As much as I long for the �norm� I realize my body has danced in tune to the evening waves across the shores of night life.

I become alive and full of energy around one in the morning, I�m in full gear at 3 am.

I drag my self in at 7 pm feeling groggy as if it were morning, cup of coffee in hand. I leave in the morning at 7 not wanting breakfast but longing for a dynamic salad. By 9 am I stumble to my darkened bedroom and sleep.

Some times I wake up not having a clue if it�s day or night. I haven�t a clue what the date or day is either. I am forever asking��what day is it?� Going to work on a Monday getting off on Tuesday takes some adjusting. Three years I am still working on that adjustment.

I am not going to let this bit of information about the delay bother me. In a few weeks I�ll be back to the natural longing for normal�my norm that is.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!