Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:16 P.M. - Monday, Oct. 11, 2004
Christopher Reeve/Sept 23, 1952-October 10, 2004
Christopher Reeve/Superman...(September 23, 1952- October 10, 2004)

I can�t believe it. I am at a loss for words to describe how this man took his tragedy in life and flipped it over to help pave the way to helping others.

I read where Christopher suffered with depression and thoughts of suicide after the accident. Later with the loving help of family and friends he became an active advocate for spinal cord research.

To be able to cope with paralysis and make a stand, shows the true spirit of some people willing to live, reach out their hearts, and help others overcome limitations. No mater what difficulties they themselves face.

I am inspired by this wonderful man who lived in the same time span of life I did. We both were born in 1952, Chris in September on the 23rd, myself the 26th of October.

We traveled different roads during the time he spent on earth but the movements around us were the same. The war�s, presidents that came and went, the loss of many a great person�s, the Challenger blowing up, the Twin Towers downed, a decade of perpetual movement. We saw it all through different eyes. Each mourning the misfortunes of life, and singing praise for the wonderful things that happened.

I remember when Christopher Reeve came into my life as Superman. He was invited into our home each week as our guest and hero. Superman lived through our TV�s, our comic books, and those of us lucky enough to have a memento might have kept it safe in an old cigar box tucked under the bed.

Later he came back to life as an inspiration of faith and hope. A true spirit that decided giving up was not an option.

I will miss you Christopher Reeve, thank you for sharing your life with mine even though we never knew each other in person. I will see you again some day and have the opportunity to tell you the times watching you struggled with each breath and the will to live inspired me to be thankful for the breaths I so freely breathe. I was given the courage to understand ALL things are possible.

You will always be a Super Man to me.

You are now free again to fly. Take to the skies my friend and follow the sunset. Your work here is done.

Sandyz


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!