Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:57 p.m. - 2004-09-15
Good bye to non smoking support groups
Today was a good day, a really good day but a sad one as well.

I have been fightn4 almost eleven months; my addiction to nicotine. Belonging to two, well three really non smoking support sites has been a battle within itself. I have juggled my 3D world as well as spending endless hours on the boards drinking up wisdom from past and present smokers.

I smoked for over 30 years and found a program through the American Lung Association that lead me to an on-line support group. I was active on that board for over six months. From there I found a site that catered to quitters that longed to communicate with people struggling to keep their quits. I also visited an informative site that I spent hours reading about this addiction. Wanting to nail this quit down solid I joined yet another quit site. My life became a vertical world in cyber space. My 3D world left to simmer on the back burner.

Besides my cyber life I worked full time and finished a book I had started over three years ago. So all was not lost in space.

I feel like today I flew free as a bird from the boards as a new non smoker. I am strong, and confident I'll remain smoke free for life. Why might you ask?

I have learned life is all about choice. I have chosen life and will never take another puff. I choose not to smoke today and tomorrow will take care of it self.

Why am I sad then?

I have left a comfort zone where I feel a special bond with so many people. I have grown close to my cyber friends over the months. Some I know better than I do folks around this part of the world. Still it was time to come home. Back to my 3D world, pick up the pieces and learn to live with out the smoke screen or smokers mask, with out the everyday embrace from fellow quitters. Time to stand alone.

I can visit. I just need to move on�move out of the nest and test these freedom wings I have grown. My life will continue to be an up and down roller ride of emotions. Another thing I learned�this will happen rather I smoke or not.

It's hard to say good bye to a big part of your life. But now I say hello to a bran new beginning.

It's ok to cry�our choices in life are not always easy.

Sandyz

Still breathing free for Ten months, three weeks, two days, 6 hours, 58 minutes and 36 seconds.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!