Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:43 a.m. - 2004-09-09
Broke toe
There it was right out of nowhere. A toe catcher. I was minding my own business being in a hurry when it reared up and grabbed my toe, that wooden pallet. It got my second toe in line from the big one. Ok fine I might have stumbled just a bit but never less it broke my toe.

I never have paid much attention to my toes before now. There they are just five little piggy�s sitting on the ends of my feet. Now one doesn�t match the rest and it has a voice. It�s screaming at me and all I can hear is pain! It changed color, now it�s an ugly purple. (Remind me to never wear purple) And it grew. That toe is now bigger than my big toe. Am I now supposed to say my big toes? I have two big toes on that foot.

Just to add insult to injury it�s bent. Well it was before it got taped to another toe.

Now I am paying attention to my toe because no matter how careful I am or how slow I am walking things keep jumping out and banging my broke toe. Even my cat Zeke left a trap for me to stub my toe on, his little mouse with no eyes. That cat chewed them out then left that toy right where he knew I�d be heading.

Today I slept almost all day just to keep from walking into another toe breaker. Plus I was told to keep my foot elevated. I woke up twice when my toe wanted me to remember it was still attached to my foot. Oh I will not forget that.

Tomorrow I am going to attempt to put on my shoes and go to work. I haven�t missed a day�s work in three years yet, so I�ll not let my toe have the last word. Or is that my mouth that has the last say? Anyway I don�t have three to six weeks to baby my toe.

Besides if I had that long to enjoy life without the head aches of that job I might never walk back in. Toes or no toes.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!