Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:08 p.m. - 2004-09-03
hurricane Frederick

Our television was tuned in tracking the movement of hurricane Frederick. I have several friends, family, loved ones all residing in different parts of the state. A few weeks ago I was in touch with Floridians hunkered down to wait out the storm. No one I knew stayed along the coastal shoes, they all went inland. Thank God partying during a raging hurricane doesn�t appeal to those I know.

Now again I wait with prayers heading in so many different directions. Not only for those have I known but everyone that lives throughout the target area.

My life in Florida was much the same as watching on TV. All eyes watching the skies and 24/7 news coverage, discussions all aimed at the monster lurking out at sea. Signs going up letting the unwelcome visitor know we have no intention of a giving it a heart felt homecoming.

There was this little twinge that felt wow�what if it does come slamming through and we make it. Something we could talk about for years to come. We all remember the BIG ones. Maybe the thinking would kick around I could say�I survived that one.

The years I spent in Daytona one such monster storm came blasting through. Took windows, unprepared lives, downed trees, and Lord knows where the awning around my work area ended up as 150 miles an hour winds tore through our community. I survived that hurricane with fear,uncertainty and frightening emotions that hounded the night as the storm raged through.

Talk about it now? Not really. I haven�t a clue what the name of the hurricane was. I just know if another was to hit and I was in Florida, I would seek a safe haven.

My kids�all as safe as they can be just waiting on Fredrick to make an appearance, I�ll be glad when it moves on and again I can spend hours on the phone talking about the next one.

Sandyz

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!